Obrázky na stránke

uses which piece of land being approved of, it was agreed to try what subscription could be set on foot for the accomplishment of this charitable work; and most of the persons present subscribed towards it in pursuance of a memorandum which they drew up for that purpose. At another vestry held on the 28th February, it was unanimously agreed that the said land on Dubber's Hill should be immediately levelled and prepared for building the work house. At a subsequent meeting on the 13th of April, 1727, a surveyor was employed and ordered to finish the building with all convenient speed.

It seems that the stucture was raised by the latter end of the year 1727: for on the 14th of November a meeting was held at the work house; at which it was agreed that the spinning of mop yarn should be the proper work of the poor in the house. At subsequent meetings proper officers were appointed, rules and orders were made for the government of the house, and all the requisite arrangements took place, connected with the interests of the establishment.

It is capable of accommodating above 160 persons, and at present contains that number; men, women, and children. Besides their

ordinary work, the children are taught to read; and thus the time is usefully employed, which might otherwise be consumed in idleness, or in mischievous pursuits. A due observance of the Sabbath is required, both in religious reading at home, and in regular attendance at the church, morning and evening. The interior of the work house is remarkably striking, on account of its very neat and clean appearance; and what is still more pleasing, an air of content may be generally observed in the faces of its inhabitants; the building stands within a spacious court-yard, adjoining which is a small garden, which in a great measure supplies the poor with vegetables. In a word, this institution posesses every thing useful and interesting which charities of the same kind can afford.


Other Benefactions to the Town of Croydon.

ARCHBISHOP BARKER left by will to the Poor

of Croydon and Lambeth the sum of . Archbishop Grindall left by his will to purchase lands, or other profits, for the benefit of the poor alms-houses in Croydon

Also to the Poor of Lambeth and Croydon

[ocr errors]

£30 0 0

50 0 0

[ocr errors]
[merged small][ocr errors]
[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

Archbishop Wake left by will to St. James's, Westminster, £50, to Lambeth £40, to the parish of Croydon £40, if he should be buried there, otherwise not; which seems he would should be disposed of by the ministers and churchwardens of those respective parishes, in binding out apprentices such children of poor housekeepers, as they, with the approbation of his executors, should think fit.

Extract from a M.S. in the Library at Lambeth, No. 1129.

State of the charities given to and for the benefit of the parishioners of Croydon, collected Anno. 1721 *.

These Benefuctions are of two kinds :

First, such as are under the direction and management of the churchwardens and vestry; of which sort are:

I. The noble gift of Henry Smith of London, Esq. who in his life time, February 1624, gave £1000 to Sir John Tonstall, and other Trustees, to the intent to pay him the interest during his life, and the Principal to be laid out in a purchase of Lands, the profits whereof to go, for ever, for relief of the Poor of the said parish, by raising a stock for setting them to work; and he dying in 1627, the farm of Stackinden, in Limpsfield, Surrey, was purchased therewith, and settled to the said uses, now let for £50 per


And he having likewise by deed and will given several large estates to charitable uses, the share thereof coming to the parish of Croydon, amounted to . . . . . . which was afterwards laid out in the purchase of the farm and lands, at Deptford in Kent, now let for £49 10 per annum.


*Copies of the title deeds to most of the lands mentioned in this list, are to be found in the M.S. volume,

II. The gift of the most Reverend Father in God, Edmund Grindall, Lord Archbishop of Canterbury, who, 24th June, 1583, gave the Vicar and Churchwardens the sum of £50, to be laid out in Lands for the yearly relief of the poor of the Little Alms-houses, wherewith the 11th November, 1583, was purchased a Copyhold house in Waddon of John Hatcher, and the same day surrendered to Richard Yeomans and others, in trust for the purposes aforesaid.

III. Seven acres of land in Croydon, near the Hermitage, purchased by the parishioners, 18th December, 1614, let for £3 per annum.

IV. The ground whereon the market-house stands, purchased by the parishioners, 11th October, 8. Elizabeth, let for £14 4 per annum.

V. A Messuage called Parkhurst, now in possession of Elizabeth Wood, at £1 9 4 per annum.

VI. A Tenement or Stable near the fish market, now in possession of Joshua Peryall, 13s. 4d. per annum.

VII. Part of a Messuage, heretofore Bird's, now in the possession of Wood, at 11s. 4d. per annum.

VIII. A Gravel-pit near Dovehouse, alias Dubber's Hill, containing part of four acres, given to the Parish by Sir William Walter, of Wimbledon, the Ist October, 1629.

The Little Alms-house, being nine small, low, inconvenient houses, wherein are usually placed the parish poor.

Second, such as have been incorporated with governors and visitors appointed by the


« PredošláPokračovať »