« PredošláPokračovať »
descendant of Dr. Mathew Hutton, who was born of indigent Parents in Lancashire in the year 1529; and who having become Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, was appointed Lady Margaret's professor of divinity, in the University; and was afterwards successively Dean of York, Bishop of Durham, and Archbishop of York. Dr Hutton, of whom we now speak, was of St. John's College Cambridge; was first, Bishop of Bangor, then, Archbishop of York, and lastly, Archbishop of Canterbury, April 20, 1757. On Thursday, March 16, 1758, he was at St Lawrence church with the governors of the London Hospital, and went from thence to the House of Lords, where he was also on the Friday; he was taken ill on the Saturday with an inflamation in his bowels, and died the next night at his house, in Dukestreet, Westminster. His body was deposited in Lambeth church, in a vault, at a short distance from the communion-table, which vault had originally been made for the lady of Archbishop Wake, who was afterwards removed to Croydon; in it Mrs. Potter also had lain some time, till she was likewise carried to Croydon, where both these ladies were placed near the remains of their respective husbands.
Upon a handsome monument, erected by his two daughters in the church of Lambeth, is the following Epitaph :
Infra conduntur Reliquiæ
Et MARIÆ, uxoris ejus, quæ obiit 13 Maii, A. D. 1779,
Duabus relictus filiis, quæ pietatis ergo monumentum hoc utrique parenti posuerunt, A. D. 1781,
Beneath are deposited the Remains of
Bishop of Bangor, A. D. 1743. Afterwards,
Archbishop of York, 1747. Finally, of Canterbury, 1757. Who died on the 19th of March, 1758, in the 65th of his age, year And of MARY, his Wife, who died
On the 13th of May, A. D. 1779, in the 86th year of her age. Leaving two daughters, who, in filial piety have raised this Monument to the memory of their parents, A. D. 1781,
As neither of the Archbishops Secker or Cornwallis resided at Croydon, this Palace fell very much to decay; and in the year 1780, an act of parliament was obtained, "For vesting in trustees the capital messuage, with the appurtenances, at Croydon, in the County of Surrey, known by the name of the Palace of the Archbishop of Canterbury, and two closes
near thereto adjoining, in trust, to sell the same; and for disposing of and applying the money to arise thereby, and received on account of the dilapidations thereof, and other money, in the manner and for the purposes therein mentioned."
It is stated in the preamble of the act, I. That the Palace was in so low and unwholesome a situation, and in many respects so incommodious and unfit to be the habitation of an Archbishop of Canterbury, that few of the Archbishops had of late years been able to reside there, and the same was then unfit to be their habitation. 2. That there then stood on the books of the South Sea Company £5402 3 3 old South Sea annuities, in the names of Frederick, Lord Archbishop of Canterbury, and Richard Maurice Jones, Gent. deceased, in trust for the See, as stock which had been formerly purchased with money allowed by the commissioners for building Westminster bridge as a compensation to the Archbishop of Canterbury and his successors, for the loss they sustained by destroying the horse-ferry from Lambeth to Mill-bank, the dividends whereof, amounting to £162 1 2, had been received by the Archbishops of Canterbury for their own use and benefit. 3. That there was also standng in the name of the Archbishop £ 1564 4 11
3 per cent. consolidated Bank Annuities, purchased by him in May, 1769 with the monies received by him for dilapidations at Croydon, and which, with the accumulated interest, amounted to £2360 3 4. That the Archbishop had lately purchased the leasehold interest in a farm belonging to the See of Canterbury, called Park Hill, most pleasantly situated within half a mile or thereabouts of the town of Croydon, and very proper for building on part thereof, a new palace for the use of the said Archbishop and his successors, in lieu of the palace of Croydon.-These facts having been proved to the satisfaction of Parliament, the act received the royal assent in the year 1780; and the trustees were thereby enabled to sell the palace, either together, or in parcels, or to pull down the buildings and sell the materials; and on payment of the purchase-money, to convey the same in fee to the purchaser. After payment of the charge of procuring the act, and the expenses of sale, the residue of the purchase-money, with the produce of the South Sea annuities, to be laid out in three per Cent. consolidated Bank annuities, which, with the sums then standing in that particular stock, was directed to be transferred to the name of the accountant general of the high court of Chancery, till the same should be paid out for the purpose of building a palace on part of the
said Park Hill farm, for the residence of the Archbishop and his successors, in lieu of the palace at Croydon, in such manner as the Lord Chancellor, Lord keeper, or Lord Commissioners should direct; the accumulated interest in the mean time to be added to the capital stock; the receipt of the trustees to be a good discharge to the purchasers, and the receipt of the Cashier of the bank, with the certificate of the Accountant General, to be a good discharge of the trustees. All that part of Park Hill farm, late in the tenure of John Stables, Esq. and the building thereon, were appropriated for the building of a new palace, and for a demesne to be annexed thereto; but no lease to be made thereof by the Archbishop or his successors, for any longer time than during their respective lives; and the Archbishop and his successors to be indemnified against all costs on account of dilapidations at Croydon.
By this Act the palace and its appurtenances, were vested in four trustees, the Lord Chancellor, the Lord Chief Justice of the King's Bench, and the Bishops of London and Winchester for the time being; who sold them on the 10th of October 1780, to Abraham Pitches, Esq. (afterwards a Knight) of Streatham for the sum of £2520. The palace is now let to