Obrázky na stránke

red to by the Poet, William Whitehead, in a poem entitled, Answer to an Epistle from a Grove in Derbyshire to a Grove in Surrey. This mansion has been inhabited by many celebrated characters. In the time of Edward III. it was in the possession of Thomas Warham, who died in 1478†. His son William Warham, succeeded to Haling House and Manor; was made Archbishop of Canterbury

Meadow, especially as it is not very far from a place called Woddens (in the map of Surrey lately published by Bowen) which might induce a conjecture that here formerly was some Idol of Woden (whence our Wednesday) adored in that place by the old Pagan Saxons.

William Whitehead was the son of a Baker at Cambridge; discovering early marks of genius, he was sent to Clare Hall, where he was admitted as a Sizer, became afterwards a Scholar, and at length a Fellow. He left the University for the purpose of accompanying two young noblemen on their travels. He was appointed Registrar and Secretary of the Order of the Bath, and finally obtained the office of Poet Laureat. His works are; the Roman Father, and Crusa, tragedies; the School for Lovers, a comedy; a trip to Scotland a farce; Odes, and Songs, with some other pieces. He died in 1785, at the age of seventy,

† By a will, dated 1478, he directed that his body should be buried in the chantry of St. Nicholas, at Croydon, before the image of our Lady of piety, He bequeathed legacies for masses, &c. with distribution of torches to be used at his month's mind; this expression means longing desire, and is

in 1504, and was at the same time appointed Lord High Chancellor to Henry VII. In both these exalted stations he is represented in history to have conducted himself with moderation and integrity. He died on the 16th of May, 1532. Haling was one of the estates which Archbishop Warham was compelled to exchange with Henry VIII. for other lands.

Queen Mary granted the Haling estate to Sir John Gage, who died in 1557. His third son Robert was its next inhabitant; he was succeeded by his second son John, father to Sir Henry Gage, who was killed in the year 1644, at the battle of Cullum Bridge, near Abingdon, in Berkshire.

After the Gages, Charles Earl of Nottingham, the celebrated Lord Admiral, possessed this estate, and died here in 1624. Sir Wm. Howard also, his brother, died here in 1600. It was afterwards sold to Christopher Gardener Esq. in whose family it remained till the year 1707, when it was purchased by Edward Stringer, Esq. He bequeathed it to his widow, who

used by Shakespeare and Butler; (See Johnson's Dictionary). he also gave lead for the purpose of covering the North aisle of Croydon church.

[ocr errors]

married Parker, Esq. ancestor of Parker Hammond, Esq. the present proprietor.

The house is at present much out of repair, and not inhabited; it has lately been offered for sale, and should it be purchased by any gentleman of taste and property, is capable of being made as delightful a habitation as can be found within the same distance from the Metropolis.

Attached to the Haling estate, is a piece of land called the Waldens, consisting of about twelve acres; it is a high ridge of gravel soil, rising in a very steep ascent, forming a perfect shelter to the street, and descending, in a declivity, as sudden, into a beautifully verdant valley about five acres in extent. It was formerly enclosed by a park fence, and stocked with conies. In the reign of Henry VIII. it was occupied by Sir Nicholas Carew, and used by him as a preserve for that species of game, to which purpose it was particularly adapted.


The residence of Thomas Meager, Esq. is situated in a pleasant valley about a mile South East of the town. It is a manor belonging to

the Hospital of the Holy Trinity, and extends over the woods of Croham Hurst. Quit rents are payable to it, from several houses and lands in the town of Croydon,

In the year 1368, it was alienated by one Chereton, to Walter Whitehorse. In the reign of Henry IV. it was in the possession of the Crown. By the Court Rolls in the time of Henry VII. it appears to have been the property of Dame Ann Peche. In the succeeding reign it was held by Sir John Danet in right of his wife, daughter, and heiress of Thomas Elingbrig. It afterwards belonged to Sir Oliph Leigh, of whom it was purchased by Archbishop Whitgift as a part of the endowment of his Hospital, of which foundation it was lately held by Samuel Chollett, Esq. till the time of the present occupier.

Coombe House,

About a mile east of Croydon, on the skirts of the Addington hills, is the agreeable residence of Beeston Long, Esq. a director of the Bank of England. It is a capital mansion, and the estate is well covered with plantations of forest and other trees. It was sold by Mr. James Mathias in 1761, to James Bourdieu,

Esq.; he died in 1807, and devised it to James Henry his son, a merchant in London, who sold it to the present worthy proprietor.

Selsdon House

Is the delightful seat of George Smith, Esq. brother to Lord Carrington, and member of Parliament for Wendover in Buckinghamshire. It is beautifully situated about two miles South of Croydon, commanding extensive views, and skirted with young and thriving plantations. This mansion was built by William Coles, Esq. about the year 1809; its present proprietor has added to it two capacious wings, with other buildings; he has also enlarged the plantations, and in several respects considerably improved the estate.

About a quarter of a mile Eastward of the town is the

House of John Brickwood, Esq.

enclosed in a park tastefully planted with forest and other trees, and adorned by a beautiful sheet of water. To the respectable proprietor of this villa the inhabitants of Croydon may

« PredošláPokračovať »