Obrázky na stránke

dington and Mitcham; on the North by Lambeth and Streatham; on the South by Addington, Sanderstead, and Coulsdon. It is very populous*; for according to the census taken in the year 1801, there were within its limits, 1074 Houses, with 5743 inhabitants, and according to another census taken in 1811, there were 1474 houses, with 7891 inhabitants. Since that period, to the present time, there has been a further increase of houses to about 1540, in which is included the Workhouse, which contains 160 people-therefore, taking the whole together in the proportion of 63 to each house, which, taking the Workhouse and Barracks at

* From a survey taken about the year 1783, it appeared that there were between seven and eight hundred houses in the town; and the computation was something more than five inhabitants to each house. Upon this subject we have the following information from Dr. Ducarel, author of the Account of the Town, Church, and Archiepiscopal Palace of Croydon. From the year 1730 to 1750, the burials amounted to 2750, the baptisms to 2335. From 1760 to 1780, the burials were 2579, baptisms, 2544. In the year 1781, there were 154 christenings, and 109 burials. In 1782, christenings 172, burials, 116. The average number in each year of these periods is as follows; in the first, 139 burials and a half, 116 christenings and three quarters; in the second, 129 burials, and 127 christenings. In the year 1792, according to Mr. Lysons, the number of houses amounted to 800, and, upon an average of six inhabitants to each house, the whole population was computed at 4800,

the same ratio, will make the number of inhabitants 10,010, we may consider the present population of Croydon, as amounting to nearly 10,000 souls.

With this large number of occupants, the parish, for the more easy collection of rates and taxes, has been divided in the collector's books under the following descriptions :

East side of High-street.

Which begins at the George corner, takes all the East side of the street, includes the Mint Walk, Spotted Dog Yard, Bailey's Yard, Teg's Court, Coombe Lane, Boswell Court, and Haling; and contains about 180 houses:

West side of High-street,

Takes all the West side from Crown hill to Haling, including the Anchor, back lane, Green Dragon, and Scarbrook *; comprising about 170 houses:

So named from the fine spring of water at the bottom of the hill. Scar, in Saxon, signifies a steep or craggy hill, and broc, a running water: this name is coeval with that of the town. The spring issues from under the hill where Mr. Chatfield's house is situated, and is never known to be dry.

The Three Tuns,

Takes the place of that name, the ButcherRow, Spring Walk, with Benson's, and Dog and Bull Yards; comprising about 90 houses:


The Middle-street with Huson's court, &c.
contains about
Pitlake, the lower part of the town so
called, with the Barracks, the Road, and

Lower and upper Church-street, with the
Palace, a Court and Hand-croft Alley
The Old Town and Ridley's Rents
Duppa's Hill and Little London

Waddon and Waddon-lane

North End, with Webb's and Stone Ma



[ocr errors]



[ocr errors]



son's yards

[ocr errors][merged small]

Broad Green and Bencham-lane


Thornton Heath


Norwood, and Blind Corner


Wood-side, Addiscombe, and Shirley

The Common

Coombe, Croham, and Selsdon

Back-lane, Newgate, and George-street


Within the parish and manor of Croydon are seven Boroughs*, viz. Bencham, Addis

* The Burgesses, or Tradesmen of towns, had, in the reign of Edward the Confessor, and at the time of the survey, their patrons, under whose protection they traded, and for

[merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small]

combe, Croham, Coombe, Selsdon, Woodside, and Shirley; from each of which a Constable is annually appointed at the General Court for the manor of Croydon ; within which, at the time of the enclosure of Norwood and the Commons, claims were made and allowed for the undernamed places as


Croydon, by the Archbishop of Canterbury. Waddon, by the same.

Rectory, Robert Harris, Esq.

Norbury, Richard Carew, Esq.

Haling, William Parker Hammond, Esq. Croham, The Warden and poor Brothers and Sisters of the Hospital of the Holy



alias White Horse,

John Cator, Esq.

Having submitted to the reader this General account of Croydon and its neighbourhood, we shall now proceed to its history both ancient and modern.

which they paid an acknowledgment; or else were in a more servile condition, as being sub dominis Regis vel aliorum entirely under the power of the King or other Lords.

See Brady on Boroughs, p. 627.


Antiquity of Croydon.

WE must not attempt to discover the origin of Croydon; History has not revealed it, and we must therefore be content with such portions of antiquity as she has imparted to us.

In our detail of ancient matter relative to Croydon, we shall in the first instance rely upon the authority of Domesday Book, the most indisputable record of Topography existing in the British Dominions. We extract then, for

* It may not be improper here to remark that at the time of the Roman invasion the people inhabiting the county of Surrey, in which Croydon is situated, and also the county of Sussex, were called Regni, and according to Ptolemy, PHINOI, Surrey, or Suth-rey as it was afterwards called by the Saxons, derives its name from Sud, in Saxon South, and Rea, River, on account of its lying on the south side of the River. After the Norman conquest the estates of the English were indiscriminately seized by William, and divided among those favourites and chieftains who had followed him to victory. The ferocious conqueror, however, constituted himself the chief proprietor of all the possessions so granted, and compelled every man to do homage to him for the Fee which he was permitted to

« PredošláPokračovať »