Obrázky na stránke

Johne Hemmyngbrowghe). Prior 1391-1416. “ Obiit anno Domini 1416,

et jacet sepultus sub lapide marmoreo, curioso, et sumptuoso, imaginibus circumspicuo, ad australem plagam ecclesiæ Dunelmensis a dextra parte inter eundum ad revesterium. Ejus Epitaphium. Ecce marmoreus lapis hic tegit ossa Johannis 1 Quem residere Deus cælis cunctis det in annis | Hemming broughe natus fuit hic et honorificatus | sede prioratus virtute probus monachatus | Qui legis hæc pro me Pater unum supplico prome | Adjungas et ave Deus ut me liberet a væl” (W. de Chambre in Scr. Tres, 145, see also

Index ; Burton and Raine, Hemingbrough, 163). Howghels Aller). So called, probably, from some portion of the estate of

the Prior and Convent at Houghal, near Durham, having been

appropriated for its inaintenance. William Ebchester). Prior 1446-1456. “ Doctor in Theologia

sepultus jacet sub lapide marmoreo in australi parte ecclesiæ Dunelmensis, coram altare Dominæ de Boultoun. Ejus Epitaphium. En tegit hæc petra venerabilis ossa Wilhelmi | Ebchester justos consumit terra sepultos | Ingenio prægnans fuerat cælestia pandens | Economus verbi fidelis dogmata sacri | Egenti largus sitienti pocula præbens | Nudatis vestes peregrinis hospes amænus | Rexerat ecclesiam prudenter jure Prioris | Accumulans præmiis eandem valde decoris | Naturæ cessit post partum virginis anno Mille cccc quingento (sic) adjuncto postea sexto | Corpore defuncto ejus in sæcula virtus | Durabit superis obla maxima divis | Australi ecclesiæ sub marmore parte sepultus | Cum Christo dormit, vivit regnatque beatus | Pro quo metra legis hæc qui ora mente fideli | Ut sit semper ovans cum sanctis culmine celi” (Chambre, 147 and Index). For the principal events of his life see Durham Obituary Rolls (Surtees

Soc.), Pref. vii n. the Ladie of Boultonas alter). Probably maintained out of the estate of the

Prior and Convent at Bolton in the parish of Edlingham, in Northum

berland. the Immage of our saviour). Rather, doubtless, of the Eternal Father. euery good fridaie). See above, ch. V. in under). Still a local expression, sometimes in the form “in and under ";

see paragraph on a Loft, ch. XVII, p. 34. Robert Ebchester]. Prior 1478-1484. “ Doctor in Theologia . . Hic jacet

sepultus sub lapide marmoreo, in quo cælatur ipsius in ære imago ; ubi subscribitur tale epitaphium, ad australem plagam ecclesiæ, inter eundum ad revesterium in dextra parte. Epitaphium. Marmore Robertus jacet hic sub jure disertus | Ebchester certus sibi sit Deus ipse misertus | Extiterat castus corpus prior hic probitatis | Doctus non fastus studio fungens veritatis | Largus amans hilaris subjecit dogmata pandens | Sacra suis meritis virtutum carmina clangens | Dic Pater infer Ave cum Credo postulo pro se | Christo sicque vale repetens mea metrica juste | Mille cccc quaterno L ter deno quoque quarto | vertitur hoc sæclo Christo regnare periclo | "Chambre, 149.

a Lybrarie). Now the Song School. It was built by Prior Wessington

(1416-1446), and the books were gradually removed into it from the various places in which they had been kept before. See Catalogi

Veteres, Surt. Soc., Vol. 7, p. ix. the Clocke). Originally placed behind the Rood-loft, ch. XVII.

The case was made by Prior Castell (1494-1519) and contained much of his work, with additions by Dean Hunt (1632). It was a fine and stately work, and to any who now see the representation of it in Billings, Pl. l, it will seem almost incredible that it was wantonly destroyed not long after the date of Billings's work (1843). “ It was, till lately, surrounded with railing, and its panelled doors contained a perspective view of the interior of the church, which is recollected not only as a curious specimen of the art of painting of that period (1632), but also as affording interesting information relative to the fabric

itself."--Raine, Br. Acc., 29. well Replenished). No less than eleven ancient catalogues and lists of the

books, from the 12th century downwards, are printed in Catalogi

Veteres, together with an Appendix of illustrative documents. Wyndowe of the iiij Docters). This window has been filled with modern

glass intended to represent the original as here described. In Scr. Tres, 153, the inscription is said to have been, Virgo tuum natum

fac nobis propitiatum.” Te deum wyndowe). Two or three of the tracery lights contained their

original glass when this window was filled with the present Te Deum

glass, and these lights have been included in the new glazing. nyne order of Angells). The three orders not named here are Principalities,

Powers, Virtues.

XVII, pp. 32–35. Jh’us mess). In a Sacrist's Roll of 1535-6, Rolls, 418, we find 46s. 8d. from

certain lands assigned “Officio Sacristæ pro celebracione missæ et antiphonæ de Jhù coram magno Crucifixo singulis diebus veneris." This is not mentioned the next preceding extant roll, that of 1486–7. The Jesus mass was in general the mass Nominis Jesu (Missale Sarum, Burntisl., 846). Rarely, perhaps, that De Quinque Vulneribus, Ibid., 751*, or that De Sancta Cruce, Ibid., 748*. At Lincoln there was, c. 1520-36, a Jhesus mass with organ accompaniment.Maddison, Vicars Choral, pp. 24, 45. Bp. Smyth's will (1514) provided for the Missa de Nomine Jesu, or else one de quinque Vulneribus, to be sung on Fridays before a crucifix on the south side of the church, cum nota.—B. and W., II, lxxii n. ; Lincoln Dioc. Mag., XI, 74 ; Rolls, 418, 419. Dean Heywood, of Lichfield (14571492), provided for a Jesus mass and antiphon (tam inissam quam antiphonam nominis Jesu) every Friday.--Archæologia, LII, 632. The Jesus altar and Jesus mass are often mentioned in Sandwich Wills, and there were “Wardens of Ihc Masse" at Reading. See N. E. D., under “Jesus,” and “I.H.S.," and a valuable communication by Mr. Cuthbert Atchley in All Saints' Clifton Par. Mag., Dec. 1901, on “ Jesus-Mass and Jesus-Anthem."


a faire high stone wall]. This would occupy the whole space between the

two columns ; its sculptured ornamentation (see below) would fill up the west side of it. No certain indications of the wall are now to be

Such a screen still remains at St. Albans. ye two Roode Dores). Similar to those in the Neville Screen, and at St.

Albans, etc., and see ch. II, p. 6. like vnto a porch). I.e., an internal structure of wood such as those

described in ch. XI. sewtes of vestmentes). A suit of vestments was often called a Vestment, and

it consisted of albe, girdle, amice, fanon, stole, and chasuble. Sometimes it included the dalmatic and tunicle for the deacon and

sub-deacon, and a cope for the priest in the procession. a moste curiouse & fine table). What is now called a triptych ; see the next


two brode leves). Together forming the whole west side of the “ porch " or

chapel ; “fore part here seems to mean the part at which you first

arrive, not the most “ forward” or eastern part. Irone pikes). Spikes were used in the same way for the Trellis-door, ch.


Marie on thone syde, etc.). Mary on the right or north side of the figure on

the Rood, and John on the left. The addition of figures of Angels and Archangels to the Rood group was common in large and

well-appointed churches. Alcuin Club Tracts, I, third ed., p. 45. one of ye goodliest monumtes]. Over the chancel arch of Brancepeth

Church is fixed a coved canopy consisting of twenty-seven square compartments, each occupied by elaborate geometrical tracery, and no two alike. An illustrated monograph on these was published by Billings. There is also at Brancepeth another coved and panelled canopy with the instruments of the Passion, the Bull's head of Neville, and other heraldic devices. It has been conjectured that both the above may have been rescued from the general havoc by George Cliffe, one of the last monks of Durham, who became a prebendary and was afterwards rector of Brancepeth.

The former one inay have belonged to the Jesus Altar. a Loft). The Rood-loft, in fact. There was also an organ-loft with a

singers' desk on the north side ; see below, under Thomas Castell. ye clocke). Removed to the south end of the transept when the Rood-loft

was destroyed, and in its turn destroyed as related above, ch. XVI, note. where men dyd sytt]. Laymen probably, who may have frequented the

church, or perhaps infirm monks. Compare the Cistercian Retrochorus described in Hope's Fountains, 38. See note on a fair long

form " below, notes on ch. XXXVII. Jesus anthem). See note on Jesus Mass, p. 220. The “ Jesus Anthem”

was a very favourite devotion in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, and we often nieet with it, as here, in connexion with the “ Jesus mass," as being sung every Friday, e.g., at Bristol, Middleham, Lichfield, London, Salisbury, etc. At Lichfield, and probably everywhere, it was sung after compline on Fridays, as was Salve Regina at other times. See below, on ch. XLIII, One name of this

anthem, “Salve of Jesus," seems to have been derived from its being an adaptation of the much earlier Salve Regina, known as “the Salve." It is probably to be identified with the Salve Rex, English versions of which may be seen in Burton's Three Primers, 1834, pp. 115, 367 ; Latin and English in All Saints' Clifton Par. Mag., Dec. 1901, 247–

249, from Primers of 1542 and 1555. Gallelei Belles). See ch. xix. Thomas Castell]. Prior 1494-1519.

In his time, viz., in July, 1502, Richard Pooell, a courtier of Henry VII, was believed to be cured of a terrible rupture, at the shrine of St. Cuthbert. He (Castell) built the present west gateway of the Abbey, with St. Helen's Chapel over it, and a priest's chamber. Here two priests administered the Holy Eucharist to all lay-folk who had made their confessions. He also repaired the window of the Four Doctors (ch. XVI) and bought two mills called the Jesus mills, which he gave to the church of Durham that he might be remembered in the Jesus mass. " Quo coram altari sepultus jacet in nave ecclesiæ Dunelmensis, sub marmore cum ipsius imagine in ære cum isto epitaphio ; Mortuus hoc tumulo Thomas sub marmore duro | Castellus recubat pietatis turris ahena | In litteris doctor divinis munere Prior | Moribus excomptis et miti pectore charus | Statura mediocris erat virtute procerus | Dapsilis hospitibus structuris tum probe notus | Pauperibus laxo præbebat munera sinu | Nulli clausa bono sua janua mensa crumena | Suppliciter pro se dicito Credo Pater Ave | Qui legis hæc

quo sit cælesti civis in æde "—(Chambre in Scr. Tres, 152). a looft ... conteyninge a paire of orgaines). Not “belonging to the

quire" (see p. 207), but specially provided and placed for the Jesus

mass and anthem. Johane Azuckland). Prior 1484–1494. “Doctor in Theologia . . . Obiit

A.D. 1494 et sepultus jacet in ecclesia Dunelmensi ” (Chambre in

Scr. Tres, 150). Johan Burrnbie). Prior 1456-1464. He was elected Prior in 1456 on the

resignation of Prior W. Ebchester, having been Warden of Durham College, Oxford, and S.T.P. For a most interesting account of his family history and his life, see the Preface to the Durham Obituary

Rolls, Surtees Soc., Vol. 31. his verces, etc.). The epitaph has not been preserved, but the supposed

stone is at present to be seen in the floor under the fifth arch from the west on the south side, not in its original place. It bears matrices of a small demi-figure with mitre and crosier, and of a large

inscription-plate. a Rowe of blewe marble). The row of stones forming the cross of Frosterley

marble, called in the table of contents of MS. C. "ye blew Crosse,” is still to be seen in the floor between the two pillars next to the north door. The southern arm is about 11/2 feet long by I foot across, the northern arm about 9 ft. 11 in. by i foot, and the.“ cross cross-piece 2 ft. 10 in. by 972 in. Each of the long arms is in four pieces. For the sense of “


in line 5 (=“ cross-piece ") see N, E, D, under Cross, sb. II, 14.

[ocr errors]


XVIII, pp. 35–37. The causes wherfore, etc.). Chapter xvii is a digression occasioned by the

mention of the marble cross. The real reason for the exclusion of women is probably to be found in some disorders in the double monastery at Coldingham, where there were both monks and nuns (Symeon, Hist. Eccl. Dunelm., II, 7). This is the only reason assigned in the English Metrical Life of St. Cuthbert, c. 1450 (Surtees Soc., Vol. 87, pp. 208–210). See further in vote on ch. XXII. Women would, however, have been excluded by the ordinary monastic rules, independently of any special reasons such as were supposed to exist at Durham. The legend of the king's daughter is here translated from ch. XXVII of the Irish Libellus de ortu S. Cuthb. (in Misc. Biog., Surtees Soc., Vol. 8, p. 83). And from the time that the legend was promulgated, those who accepted it naturally connected it, as the writer here does, with the exclusion of women from St. Cuthbert's churches. It would gain much currency from being admitted into the Life of St. Cuthbert in the Nova Legenda (Oxf. ed., 1, 217). Legends of a similar kind are of constant

occurrence in hagiology. of wch bookes there is one Intituled, etc.). The Editor is not aware that any

such book now exists. borders of ye Pictes). So the Libellus, but Bede does not take him further

north than Old Melrose. Corwen). Locus ille adhuc Corruen dicitur.-Libellus. Not identified, so

far. Carham has been suggested. wherevpon it came, etc.). This is part of the Irish story, which probably dates from the twelfth century, in its present form.

XIX, p. 37–40. a trellesdoure]. The holes for the two cross-pieces that supported the

trellis are distinctly visible in the columns. Iron pikes). See ch. XVII. Hallewater stones]. The base of the column next to the north door is cut

away to make room for the holy-water stone that was there placed :

no other indications of it remain. ye Lady of Pieties alter]. Our Lady of Piety or Pity, that is, the Virgin

Mother supporting the Dead Christ on her knees, the Madonna della Pietà of Italian art, was a favourite object of devotion, and in Durham there was another altar in the Galilee, under the same dedication. The west side of the column mentioned in the last note has been cut away as if to make room for a reredos of considerable height; it has been “restored ” with new stone in recent times. There are no other indications of the altar. The designation “ Our Lady of Piety Pity,” occurs three times in Rites. The Roll has “ Pieties" in all cases, but altered to “ Pitties" in two of them. MS. Cosin has “ Pitties,” with “ Pietries " in the margin, “ Pieties," and “Pitties." All the other MSS. and editions have some form of “ Pitties in all cases, except L., which has “Pieties” once. It may here be noted that the “ ymage of pite” inserted in the British


[ocr errors]
« PredošláPokračovať »