« PredošláPokračovať »
Museum copy of Caxton's Pie, c. 1487, and elsewhere, is a different thing, and represents our Lord with the marks of His Passion as in
the “ Mass of St. Gregory." a verie fair skreene, etc.). These words appear to relate to the altar, not to
the holy-water stone. one of ye Mounckes did hallow, etc.). The “ Ordo ad faciendam aquam
benedictam" may be seen in the manuals, and is often prefixed to missals. It is also called “Benedictio salis et aquæ."-See Rolls,
Index under Holy Water, and Scallop. the other stood, etc.). This paragraph should be read with the concluding
portion of the middle paragraph in ch. xx. Just at the junction of the aisle with the transept there is what looks like the lowest piece of a moulded base of “ blue" marble, but it seems hardly large enough for the basin here described, nor again is it “at " or
within " the south door. or Lady of pieties alter). Mentioned a little above, where see note. The
two corners of the base of the column opposite to the site of this altar have been cut off, possibly in order to set up the wainscot inclosure, which would doubtless occupy the whole space between
two pillars, and form a “porch " or chapel. Sancte saviours alter). A modern tomb now occupies its site, but the
remaining corner here described is still to be seen, broken off Aush
with the wall. the galleley steple). The N.W. tower, which does not now contain any
bells. or at such other tymes]. This reads as if the Bishop usually came for the
principal feasts. The bells are still rung when the Bishop comes
for any special purpose, such as an Ordination or Confirmation. Euery sonnday). Every holy day and Sunday according to ch. XXII, p. 46,
where the “faire iron pulpitt" is described. roung ye forth quarter). “Roung" means not merely tolled or knolled, as
for the first three quarters, but “rung up," that is, made to swing up a good height at each pull. In tolling, as here understood, the bell
only swings so far as just to meet the clapper, and so in chiming. certaine officers, etc.). The bells were not rung in peal, as in later times,
but either separately for different purposes, or two or more together without any regular sequence, as still in France. It required more than one man to ring a heavy bell, and so they had “imps smaller ropes attached to the main rope, as also now in England for “raising" heavy bells. It will be observed that three of the bells had two, four, and six men charged with the ringing of them,
according to the size of each bell. in ye latter dayes of kyng Henrie the eighte).
The smaller monastic houses had been suppressed in 1536. occupied). Made use of ; an archaism, as in “ Occupy till I come.” Tho. Sparke). He was of Durham College, Oxford, and took his B.D.
degree in 1528, being then prior of Lindisfarne. In 1529 he came to the Abbey of Durham, and was Chamberlain at the Dissolution. In 1537 he was consecrated bishop suffragan of Berwick. In 1541 he
became the first prebendary of the third stall in Durham and Master of Greatham Hospital, and in 1547 rector of Wolsingham. He died in 1571, holding all these preferments, and leaving behind him “a myter sett withe stonis and perle silwr & gilt " valued at 131. 6s. 8d.
-Scriptores Tres, 156 ; Durham Wills and Inv., I, 380, and note. synce yt was suspent]. The use of it suspended, i.e. at the suppression of
the monastery. a goodly chyme). Note that it was only on three bells, so that it could
hardly have been for tunes. Perhaps it was a chiming apparatus by means of which the “rounds,” or, the six changes possible on three bells, could be produced. A large chime-barrel, which had long remained disused in the Lantern, was brought down a few years ago, and, after lying for some time in the workmen's yard, was broken up. This, however, appeared, from the great number of iron pegs that it bore, to have belonged to apparatus more recent and elaborate than that of Bishop Sparke would be. Chimes for tunes had been in use for some time. There is a contract for a chime at Gloucester to play Christe Redemptor and Chorus Nova Jerusalem, dated 16th July, 1525.
Hist., etc., Monasterii S. Petri Gloucestriæ (Rolls Series), III, Intr. cx. a prison for ye Scotts). See ch. VII, IX.
XX, pp. 40–41.
The South angle). So in MS. Cosin, but H. 44 has “ Alley,” which is also
the reading of the later editions ; L., C., and Davies have “SouthAngle.” The writer no doubt meant the south-east corner of the body of the church, including the aisle. All the editions have
just below. Robert Neivell). Bishop 1438–1457. He desired in his will to be buried in
the Galilee, near the shrine of the Ven. Bede, before the altar of the
left. The principal inscription has been on a plate below the feet. a faire Allablaster table). A sculptured reredos of alabaster. Alabaster is
easily worked, and as durable as marble indoors, though rapidly perishing when exposed to the weather. Such “ tables" were by
They seem to have been made in large numbers at Nottingham, near which place alabaster abounds (or at least formerly did), in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. See Archæologia, LII, 679.
no means uncommon.
invyroned wth Ironel. Some of the holes where the iron rails were fixed in
are to be seen in the bases of two of the pillars. The south wall of the Neville chantry shows some remains of decorative colouring. It had a five-light Perpendicular window which was destroyed, together with its heraldic glazing, in 1849, in order to insert an imitationNorman window, when the whole south side of the nave was refaced. See Billings, Pl. viii. In the same wall is a small recess like a locker ; it seems to have been protected by iron bars that have been
wrenched out. behinde ye church doure). That is, to the east of the south-east doorway
from the cloister, as far as the respond facing the S.W. pier of the
Lantern. a chambre). An upper chamber, over the vestibule of the south-east door
way. It must have been lighted by the Decorated window shown in
Billings, Pl. viii. iiij pillers). One being at each corner of the vestibule, the four sides of
which were “sett out" in the way described. The two northern pillars have had their bases cut away and grooved for the wainscot
in ye mydes, etc.). It is not easy to make out the exact position of the holy
water stone mentioned in this chapter, called “the other" in ch. xix.
blue with gilt stars. an alter wth a Roode). The projecting course of the west side of the base
of the column is cut away to make more room for this altar. It would almost appear from this passage that the word “Rood" sometimes denoted a figure of Christ not on the Cross. But there may have been cross behind the figure. Indulgences were attached to the “Altare Sanctæ Crucis,” probably the same as this
of the Bound Rood.”—App. VI, Nos. XLII, LVI, pp. 155, 158. MSS. L., C., and the editions of Hunter and Sanderson, have the
reading “ Bonny Rood.” inclosed, etc.). See ch. Xix, p. 38. the grate, etc.). See ch. XXI, p. 42.
XXI, pp. 41-42.
Christian Antiquities, s.v., the Introduction to the Surtees volume of
cited, particularly Pegge's article in Archæologia, Vol. VIII, p. 1. all the circuyte therof]. The circuits of Sanctuaries were usually marked
by crosses on the main roads leading to them, On the mile-crosses
at Ripon, see Mem. Ripon, I, 33, 90. Neville's Cross (ch. xv) and the “Leaden Cross” formerly at the top of Gilesgate probably served as sanctuary crosses. Two others, on the south side of the city, called in later. times Philipson's Cross and Charley Cross, may have served the same purpose. The base of the latter still remains, and both were standing in about 1780, when drawings were made of them.
See Brit. Mus., Kaye Collection, Vol. II, Nos. 227, 228. knocking & Rapping]. The well-known bronze knocker still remains on
the north door. For representations of it, see Carter, Pl. xi ; Sanctuarium Dunelm. et Beverlac., Surtees Soc., Vol. 5, p. xxiv ;
Billings, title ; Greenwell, title ; J. T. Fowler, Durh. Cath., 61. two chambers]. Over the north porch, which has been deplorably mutilated
and “Gothicised,” are still left some slight remains of the chambers, to be seen
on the inside. They opened by a staircase, which remains, into the triforium, through a round-headed doorway, and were lighted by two small round-headed windows, still visible though blocked up, looking into the aisle. Carter's engraving shows the outside as it was previous to the last great alteration. It appears to have been extended in the thirteenth century by two great buttresses carrying an acutely pointed arch over which was a lofty gable. See Greenwell, 47, and engraving in Durham Arch. Trans., Vol. V, p. 29,
ye gallelei Bell). The present tenor bell, recast 1693, bears the inscription,
Camp. S. Cuthberti olim Galalea." Sancte Cuthb: cross). We have no means of knowing what the precise
form of this cross was. There is no ancient authority for the modern “St. Cuthbert's Cross,” a cross patée quadrate, as borne in the arms
granted to the University of Durham in 1843. such a frelige). Franchise or privilege. See FREELAGE in N. E. D. a grate). In the shaft of the western respond that stands next to the nave
are two holes where iron portions of this grate may have been
fastened in. king Guthrid). Guthred, under-king in Northumbria, 883-894. He may
well have been devoted to St. Cuthbert, for the Saint appearing in a vision to the abbot of Luercestre (Carlisle) had directed that he should be raised from servitude to the throne.-Hist. de S. Cuthb. in
Surtees Symeon, p. 143. king Alvred). Alfred the Great, regarded as king of all England, 871-901.
On the confirmation by these two kings of the lex pacis, attributed to St. Cuthbert himself in the first instance, see above, p. 137, and Sym. Dunelm., Historiæ Recapitulatio, in Surtees Symeon, p. 73. Alfred, as well as Guthred, probably thought that he was under the special protection of St. Cuthbert. See the Metrical Life of St. Cuthbert, p. 126, notes ; E. A. Freeman, Old Engl. Hist., 1873, p. 130; C.
Plummer, Alfred the Great, 1902, p. 62. a moste fyne large wyndowe). This window was made and inserted in the
Norman west front during the priorate of John Fossor, 1341-1374 (Scr. Tres, p. 132).
Rute of Jessei). The genealogy of our Lord represented by figures
standing on the branches of a tree growing out of a figure of Jesse was a very favourite subject for painted glass, and is most frequently, as here, found associated with tracery of the Decorated period. The ancient glass has disappeared from this Durham Jesse window, but the original subject has been adopted in the modern glazing. Some small portions of the old glass, including a Crucifixion, remembered to have come from the uppermost light, and some terminal branches of the tree have been inserted in one of the modern windows in the north aisle of the choir. The “ Root of Jesse" was more usually represented in the great east window, as at Selby, Wells, Carlisle, Morpeth, etc. On this subject see Representa
tions of the Tree of Jesse, etc., by James Fowler, Selby, 1890. in ye top of ye said wyndowe). That is, not in the topmost tracery
light, if it was originally occupied by the Crucifixion, but in the uppermost part of the window, in one of the large tracery lights towards the top. But compare the account of the Jesse window in the Chapter-house, p. 56. The Crucifixion subject mentioned in the last note may have been put into the uppermost light after the destruction of the original glass.
XXII, pp. 42–51.
appoynted for women). Symeon relates (ch. xxii) why it really was that
women were excluded from churches of St. Cuthbert. It was on account of disorders at Coldingham, which are referred to by Bede in Eccl. Hist., IV, 25. The monastery there at first included both monks and nuns, but after St. Cuthbert became bishop he separated them entirely for all future time, and caused a church for women to be built on Holy Island, which was called the Grene Cyrice, or Church on the Green. In the Metrical Life of St. Cuthbert (c. 1450) we are told “þis custome is zit at durham,” line 7205). In ch. XVIII, above, the custom is connected with the fabulous story of the temptation of St. Cuthbert by a king's daughter. The Durham feeling may have been accentuated by its being recorded that St. Carilef, the patron of the monastery from which the first Norman
bishop came, excluded women from his church. See pp. 133, 134. The actes of ye B. ca. 26). So the MSS., but the printed editions say, “ of
the Bishops." In Durham Wills and Inventories (Surtees Soc.), Vol. I, p. 2, certain ornamenta of Bishop Flambard are mentioned with the words “ sicut habetur in gestis Episcoporum,” the reference, perhaps, being to a passage in the Continuatio of Symeon, cap. i, Rud's edition, p. 258. But we do not find anything upon the naming of the Galilee there, or in the passages relating to that building in the continuators known as Scriptores Tres (sometimes entitled “ Hist. Eccl. Dunelm. et successio Episcoporum” (Wood's City of Oxford, Oxf. Hist. Soc., II, 264), and “the booke entituled The Acts of the B.” remains to be identified. As to the term “ Galilee," see note a
little below. Hugo Búshop of Durhm). Hugh de Puiset or Pudsey, 1153-1195. He was
a son of a Count of Bar, and said to be a nephew of King Stephen,