« PredošláPokračovať »
in such a way that very little wet would get in if the book were well clasped. The present binding, studded with jewels and gold, was
provided by Bishop Maltby at a cost of £75. much more bewtifull than it was before). This is a later touch. Symeon
says nothing more than that it was no worse ; “in quo nullum omnino, ut diximus, per aquam lesionis signum monstratur."—Hist.
Eccl. Dunelm., II, xii (xxvii). a read horse). Redd, p. 70, i.e., reddish brown. We find in the Rolls
“pultra rosea, 199 ; stagg rubius cortal,” 399 ; 'equus sor," 235 ; “allec rub.,” “allec sor.” (red herrings), frequently. And so we
speak of “red hair." from Sacte Cuthbtes daie . . . bodie of Sacte Cuthb :). This passage is found
only in the Roll, and it seems to be unintelligible. Warde Lawe). Probably one of the hills immediately to the east of Durham,
not Warden Law near Houghton-le-Spring. a woman lacking her kowe). This is the first appearance of the legend of the Dun Cow; see again below, pp. 71, 74, 249, 254; Metr. Life, Intr.
The legend is told more fully in ch. XXXIV, where also the sculpture is mentioned. a great Rush of thornes). “Rush ” is a Northern term for a natural or
self-sown thicket. See Halliwell, and Atkinson's Cleveland Glossary. chappell of wandes). Constructed of wattles or hurdles. See Adamnan's
Life of St. Columba, Oxf. edition, p. 72n. This had been quite a usual method of constructing temporary churches, the remote
predecessors of the modern “iron churches." White Kirke so called). There is some confusion about the various
churches. The concluding sentence of Symeon's lib. iii, cap. 2, reads as if the White Church had been a different building from Aldhune's, and so Hegge understood it, though it is patient of a construction making the “alba æcclesia " and the “ major æcclesia" to be the
Rites here speaks of the “white kirke" as distinct from the “great kirke,” sc. of Aldhune, but in Cos. MS. (ch. xxxiv) of the " white Chapell" as “a part of the great church" of Aldhune. Reginald speaks of Aldhune's church with two towers as “Alba ecclesia " (Reg. Dunelm., cap. xvi). The white church was perhaps a small whitewashed stone building, more substantial than the “ wanded kirk,” attached in some way, while it stood, to the
“mickle kirk," and in that sense “ a part of" it ; see p. 72. ye more kyrke or gret kirke). An example of the old sense of more
meaning greater, comparative of great, surviving in place-names, as Much Wenlock, More Monkton. So Shakspeare in K. John, ii, 1,
34, “To make a more requital to your love." iijo yeres after). This mistake is repeated in MSS. Cos. and H. 44, as well as in all the editions after that of Davies, which says “thirty." MS.
23 yeares and more”; C., “almost twenty-nine yeares." In point of fact, Aldhune came to Durham in 995, and died in 1018. Mxxijo yeres paste). This is unintelligible. The other MSS. and the
editions previous to 1842 give the right date, namely 1093.
Bushippe Will'm and Priour Turgott]. Here the writer follows Symeon in
saying nothing about King Malcolm ; see above, pp. 240, 242. ye old church buylt by Aldunus). “Of that church,” says Greenwell
(Durh. Cath., 14), “ I do not know that a single stone remains visible to the eye, though there are, no doubt, thousands of the stones
belonging to it enclosed within these walls." buylded & finished). Only so far as the eastern end of the nave. ye White church). Aldhune's “mickle kirk" is here meant. See note a
little above, p. 249. It is likely enough that the little temporary church
and Aldhune's great church both went by the same name. ye fereture). See ch. 11. ye booke . . . wch was lost in ye sea). The writer is here mixing up two
totally distinct books, the large text of the Four Gospels referred to above, p. 278, and the small copy of St. John's Gospel which was found in the coffin of St. Cuthbert in 1104, was kept at Durham until the Dissolution, and is now at Stonyhurst, after having passed through various hands. Its size is only about 548 by 376 inches, and it is supposed to have been St. Cuthbert's vade-mecum, carried in a satchel slung round his neck. In the account of the Translation in Acta SS. Boll., Mar. 20, p. 142, cap. iii, it is said that Bishop Flambard, while preaching, held it up for the people to see, and that meanwhile an attendant stole a thread out of the satchel-cord and hid it in his shoe. Being then seized by severe pain in his leg, he restored the thread, and was at once cured. An interesting account of this little book and its three red leather satchels is given by Reginald, who tells us how Bishop Pudsey hung it round the neck of Archbishop (afterwards Saint) William of York, who examined its pages, and put it round the necks of his friends.-Reg. Dunelm.,
A good idea of it may be gathered from the Palæographic Society's Vol. II, Pl. 17, and description, as follows : “ The Gospel of St. John, in Latin, of St. Jerome's version. Vellum, measuring 578 * 378 ins. ; ninety leaves, of twenty lines in a page ; written, probably on the Continent, in the seventh century. On the fly-leaf at the beginning, the following note, in a hand of about 1300, records the tradition that the MS. was found in the tomb of St. Cuthbert, who died A.D. 687:— Evangelium Johannis quod inuentum fuerat ad capud "beati patris nostri Cuthberti in sepulcro jacens Anno Translacionis ipsius' (1104). This note is copied from one of rather older date, which was written at the head of the Gospel, but afterwards erased. In the lining of the binding is a fragment of a plea roll of the Prior of Durham, bearing a date of 1264. The MS. was long in possession of the Earls of Lichfield. It passed in 1769 to the Anglican College of Jesuits at Liege, whence it was again brought to England, and it now forms part of the library of Stoneyhurst College.” The writing is in small and beautiful uncial characters.
There is no ornamentation. thorowgh his Revelac'on). The historical narrative contained in this chapter
is based mainly on Bede and Symeon, and it may be compared with the English Metrical Life of St. Cuthbert.
XXXIII, pp. 68–69.
a faire toumbe of stone). This tomb seems to have been in the same
relation to the present church as the little White Church had been to the Mickle White Church of Aldhune. In Cosin's MS. (ch. xxxv) it is said to have been made by Bishop William of St. Carilef. We have no earlier notices of it than these in Rites. In 1896 a careful search was made in the cloister-garth for its substructure or other remains, but nothing was found. It appears to have stood on the spot where the shrine had stood in Aldhune's church. See the
inscription below, p. 141, concerning Bishop Ralph Flambard. a memorie and speciall monumt]. The writer of this version of the account
seems from this passage and from the beginning of the chapter as it stands in the Roll, without the gloss from H. 45, to have thought that the monument stood on the site of the wattled church. The Cosin MS. (ch. XXXV) does not bring this out. It may or may not
have been the case. a Registr house). Frequently mentioned below. This was the Registry of
the monastery. The Bishop's diocesan and palatinate Registry was a distinct building provided by Bishop Langley (Durham Wills and Inventories, I, 88). It was constructed between the north porch
and the N.W. tower, and is shown by Carter in Pl. iv. certaine commissioners). The commission here referred to was a later one,
designed to be supplementary to that under Henry VIII, which dealt
with St. Cuthbert's shrine. Doctour Harvy and Doctour Whitby). These commissioners appear to be
otherwise unknown to fame. Their lives are not given in the
Dictionary of National Biography.
XXXIV, pp. 69--74. note by Dr. Hunter]. The dates in this chapter are correctly noted, by
Dr. Hunter, as is supposed, in the margin of MS. Cosin. bough church). It has been imagined that the church of St. Mary in the
North Bailey stands on the site of the wattled church or “church of boughs,” and that this was the origin of its name of Bow Church or St. Mary-le-Bow. But the church, like that of the same name in London, really derives its name from an arch or “bow" over which its tower stood, and which spanned the street. This tower fell August 29th, 1637. It is much more likely that the tomb in the
cloister-court (ch. XXXIII) was on the site of the wattled church. all the cuntry). Symeon says that earl Uhtred's people came in great
numbers “a flumine Coqued usque Tesam.”—Lib. III, cap. ii (xxxvii). wch
was a part, etc.). See above, p. 249. For which famous work, etc.). This statement of Davies, no foundation for which has been found, is not repeated in the later editions.
But in a Durham Missal (Harl. 5289, fo. 334) is a mass Sci. Karilephi abb'is. Bishop William may have instituted the commemoration in honour
of his former patron saint, and in later times the saint may have been
wrongly identified with the bishop. did arch it ouer). If this statement be not altogether incorrect, it must
refer to the western portion of the vaulting. Canon Greenwell, pp. 36-38, thinks it most unlikely that any portion of the nave vaulting can be so late as 1242, although, as he points out, instances of assimilated work do occur.
• Nic. Fernham, episcopus, fecit testudinem templi 1242.—(Coll., I, 122, edition 1774). Graystanes (Scr. Tres, 77) mentions extensive repairs of the nave roof which must have been effected about 1245, and it is hardly likely that the outer roof could require to be repaired “ de novo' within three or four years of its being made. Indeed the continuator of Symeon says that in the interval between the death of Flambard in u 28 and the accession of Galfrid Rufus in 1133, “navis ecclesiæ Dunelmensis monachis operi instantibus peracta est."-Sym. Contin.,
under one stone). Prior Melsonby may have been buried in the chapter
house as having been bishop-elect. See ch. XXVI, note on Bishop
Nich. de Farnham. in an iron chest). There is a mistake here, unless the writer means an
iron-bound chest. King Stephen's nephew). See note above, p. 241. the Consistory). The Consistory Court was held in the Galilee both
previous to and long after the Reformation. For some time the Spiritual Chancellor had his seat over Bishop Langley's tomb, as shown in a drawing in B.M. Kaye Coll., Vol. II, No. 211 (c. 1780), which represents it as a sort of square pulpit. To this relates the inscription in black-letter over the great arch, “Judicium Jehovae
Domine Deus da servo tuo cor intelligens ut judicet populū tuū et discernat inter bonū et malum.” In Carter's plan, c. 1796, the situation of the fittings is shown as having then been on the south side of the Galilee, facing north. These fittings were removed about that time, with a view to the destruction of the Galilee, and in 1796-7 Mr. Morpeth fitted up a new Spiritual Court in the eastern chapels of the north transept, previously used the Minor Canons' vestry, at a cost of £68. These fittings were removed in 1845. Record of Benefactions, 1858, under the dates ; Raine, Br. Acc., 34. Since 1845, the Court has again been held in the Galilee, as occasion has
arisen, but without any special fittings. as aboue is declared). In ch. XXII. the Priory of Finkley]. Bishop Flambard (1099-1128) gave the hermitage
at Finchale, with its fields and fishery, to St. Godric in his life-time, to be tenanted by two monks of Durham after his death. Bishop Pudsey (1153-1195) continued the grant by Flambard, and gave the two monks a tract of land adjoining. It was Henry de Pudsey, one of the three sons of the bishop, who was the real founder of the Priory of Finchale as a house for a number of monks, transferring thereto a monastic foundation which he had placed for a short time at Haswell, and then at Bacstanford, in 1196. See Charters and Preface in the Surtees Society's volume 6, The Priory of Finchale. None of
Pudsey's work can be identified at Finchale now, but in 1837 Dr. Raine wrote, “the monks entirely rebuilt their church. The only trace of their former edifice which was suffered to remain was the tomb of Godric their patron saint .. of the altar shape, with Norman pilaster mouldings at its corners. These are the only stones in the edifice which bear the stamp of Norman architecture."--Priory of Finchale, Pref., p. xviii. The present church was begun in 1242
and was not finished in 1266. the Hospitall of Allerton). The hospital of St. James, founded by Bishop
Pudsey, was in the township of Romanby, about a mile east of
Durham, III, 429.
and Constitutions are printed in complete sets of Allan's Collectanea. The ancient residence of the masters was destroyed in 1833. There are views of it in B.M., Kaye Coll., Vol. III, 61-70 ; in Allan's Collections in Collectanea) relating to Sherburn Hospital, 1771 (frontispiece); and in Hutchinson, II, 589. The gatehouse has been spared, and retains its original vaulting. The south side of the nave of the chapel and the north side of the tower are Pudsey's
work. See Billings, County of Durham, 61 and plate. Elvet bridge . . with two Chappels). Elvet bridge is a wonderful piece of
engineering, consisting as it does not only of the arches over the river, but of a number of dry arches carrying the approach from the north through the street now called Elvet Bridge. These form cellars belonging to the shops and houses in the street. The bridge was either not completed in Pudsey's time or soon needed repair, for in 1225 and 1228 Archbishop Walter Grey issued indulgences for its “construction." It was again extensively repaired in 1495 and 1771, and widened in 1804-5. Ribs were inserted under the later portions of the arches in 1900. Some of these ribs are constructed of stone, others of brick and cement! One of the two chapels was founded by Lewen, a burgess of Durham, and dedicated in honour of St. James, the other, much earlier, by William, son of Absolon, and dedicated in honour of St. Andrew; this latter was at the south end of the bridge, where a building now stands. For St. James's, see Kellawe's Register, Rolls ed., II, p. 1173, and pp. 833, 871. St. James's was covered in by 36 square yards of lead, and St. Andrew's by 88. Inventories of Church Goods, Surtees Soc., p. 147 ;
Rolls, under Andrew, St. a Mannor and Church at Darlington). The Manor house of the bishops is
supposed to have been built about 1164 ; for a description of it, and reproduction of an old view, see Longstaffe's Darlington, p. 187; cf.
The work of building the church was going on in 1192 ; it is Early English in style, quite different from Pudsey's earlier works, which are Romanesque. See Longstafte's Darlington, frontispiece, and pp. 187, 213; Longstaffe in Durham and Northumb. Arch. Trans., I, 6; Billings, County of Durham, 29, and three plates. J. F. Hodgson, in Arch. Æliana, Vol. XVII.
pp. 43, 62.