« PredošláPokračovať »
he bought ... the Earldome of Sadberge). The price paid was £11,000 for
the earldom of Northumberland for life, and the wapentake of Sadberge (not properly an earldom) in perpetuity. Scr. Tres, pp. 14, lix-Ixii ; Surtees, Hist., III, 265; and on the Palatinate generally,
Lapsley, Co. Pal. of Durham, passim.
Carilef and Flambard must be mere baseless tradition. At any rate
Altars, a building begun 114 years after his death. a milke maide milkinge hir kowe). This is the first mention of the Dun Cow
sculpture and legend. The present sculpture, representing two women and a cow, was substituted (about 1775) for the old one, of which there is a woodcut in Hutchinson's Durham, 1787, II, 226. The Dun Cow legend was most likely a piece of local folk-lore not thought by earlier writers to be of sufficient importance to be recorded. Not even Reginald makes any reference to it.
XXXVI, pp. 75–77. Buship Skirley and Bushop Langley]. On Skirlaw's work (1388-1405), see
Scr. Tres, 145; Durham Wills and Inv., II, 44; and on that of Langley (1406-1437), Scr. Tres, pp. 146, cciv. Ten rolls of the annual expenses have been preserved ; there is a short abstract of them in Raine's Brief Account, p. 87. Little of the original work is left save the oak ceiling, and that has been tampered with by the introduction of
heraldic shields that were not there before. the Dirivatory). This mistake is repeated by Davies, who has the whole of
the passage here printed from the Lawson MS. It is corrected to “Dormitory” in ed. 1842, 64n. The other editions omit the reference to the Dormitory. The Cambridge MS. has “Deriuitory," and Harl.
has “ Deribitory." ye hole storie & myricles). Here, as in the St. Cuthbert window at York,
which is fully described in Yks. Arch. Jrnl., IV, 249 ff., and XI, 486 ff., the Irish legend was followed for the saint's childhood. The York window contains the in ription“ (Ora)te pa'ia Th. longley Ep'i dunelm. qui istam fenestra' fieri fecit." Langley had been canon of York in 1400, and dean in 1401. For earlier versions of the Irish legend see Libellus de Ortu S. Cuthb. in Misc. Biogr. (Surtees Soc.),
63 ff. ; Metrical Life, 3 ff. the brighte beames, etc.). A very usual incident in the legends of Saints'
births. Mullocke . asmuch as to saie Cuthbert]. Probably a mere fancy of the
writer. “Multi sunt Sancti, qui in Hibernicis Molaca, Moloca, et Molaga et Moluoc appellantur."--Colgan, Triadis Thaumaturga Acta, p. 50, n. 52. There can be no connexion in meaning between the names Cuthbert and Moluog. “Cuthbert" is formed of A.S. Cuð, known, and beorht, brightness; “Moluog" of Irish Mo-lua-og, my little Lua, short for Lughaid, which is a proper name, perhaps
connected with Lugh, little. Hardbrecins). Supposed to be Ardbraccan, in Meath.
Sertain verses). Explanatory verses, sometimes Latin, often English, were
commonly used in like cases. the said toumbe). Ch. XXXIII, XXXV. Commed of a princelie Raice). Here the writer is following the fabulous
Libellus de Ortu. See Metrical Life, p. 3, etc. certaine Bushopes armes). See note above. From Dugdale's notes at the
Heralds' College, we learn, says Raine (Brief Account, 88), that there were in 1666 in the cloister “the arms of Bishop Skirlaw (often repeated, and in one instance with the cross in saltire), Clifford, Willoughby, Bowet Archbishop of York, Neville (more than once), Spencer, Latimer, Langley, Umfreville, De la Hay, Newark and Wycliffe (Skirlaw's two executors), Greystock, Bertram, Hilton, Seroop of Masham, Dacre, Mowbray, Percy, Maltravers, Lumley, Basset, Eure, Tempest, Ogle, Kyme, Fulthorp, Bowes, Hansard, Old Percy, Percy and Lucy, Beauchamp, Heron, Vere, Surtees, Chancellor, Mitford of Molesdon, Widdrington, Elstob, Montboucher, Middleham, the See of Durham, and three other coats. These were restored in 1828, but by a mistake . . there were added, at the same time, the bearings which Dugdale had observed upon Hatfield's tomb, and in the windows of the Nine Altars." Scarcely any of the original "embellishments” were discernible in 1824.--Allan, Durham and its Environs, 32.
XXXVII, pp. 77–78. maundy Thursdaie). The ceremonies of the Maundy (so called from the
first word of the antiphon Mandatum novum do vobis, etc.), described in this and the following chapter, date in some form or other from the sixth century, if not earlier. The constitutions of Priors Absolon, German and Bertram in the twelfth century provide for the Maundy at Durham.-Hutchinson, Durh., II, 69n., 70n. The ceremonial washings seem to have arisen out of ordinary washings done in preparation for Easter, and the ceremonial refection called Cæna Domini out of the ordinary supper. Both acquired a special character by being associated with the washing of the disciples' feet and the Last Supper. The details varied in different places, and increased in number as time went on. There were other ceremonies on Maundy Thursday and during the rest of Holy Week which are not mentioned in Rites, as the blessing of palms on Palm Sunday, and on Maundy Thursday the Reception of Penitents, the Consecration of the Oils, the stripping and washing of altars. The author may have had a more vivid recollection of the rites here described, from having taken part in them as a boy. Much information on the subject may be found in Isidorus Hispalensis, Migne, Patr. Lat., Vol. 83, p. 764; B. F. Albinus seu Alcuinus, ib., 101, p. 1203 ; Amalarius de Div. Off., ib., 105, p. 1011; Joannes Abricensis, ib., 147, p. 127; Martene, de Ant. Mon. Ritibus, et de Ant. Eccl. Disc. ; Indices to these s.v. Mandatum ; the Sarum, York, Roman, and other missals; Lib. Evesham, cols. 85–87, p. 199; Lanfranc in Reyner or Wilkins ; the Cistercian Consuetudines, Guignard (1878), p. 110; Rock, IV, 234 ; H. J. Feasey, Holy Week Ceremonial, 95; Ellis and Brand, Popular Antiquities, I, 142–150.
xiijo poore aged men). This was the Mandatum Pauperum, or Prior's
Maundy, corresponding with the Abbot's at Westminster, Evesham, etc. ; the number of poor men varied. Thirteen stood for Christ and
the Twelve Apostles. ix a clock). In the evening ; the rites concluded with Compline. a fair longe broad thicke tourme). See the addition at the end of this
paragraph, p. 78. When that addition was made, the Prior's Maundy bench may have been placed in the transept together with the long form mentioned p. 34, and both used as ordinary seats. So late as 1801 what then passed as a Maundy bench was still kept in the Revestry: -See Carter's Plan, U 4, and description, p. 7; B.M. K’aye Coll., Vol. II, No. 147, which, however, does not show the “peces" .. “like unto a man." If the seat represented in the drawing was really the old Maundy bench, these pieces must have been removed before the drawing was made. Or perhaps the seat is one of later date, or it may have been the “long forme" mentioned p. 34.
See the next note. ye prior dyd washe, etc.). The Maundy was continued in some form after
the Dissolution. In 1545 we find “for the mand mayd apon mand thirsday at Mr. Deyn commandement, ijs. xd.”—Durh. Misc. Cart. 2751-9. In 1547, “In cena domini post mandatum. In ceruisia vj gall. ad ijd. ob., xvd. In pane, iiijd. In vino clareto, j gall., xijd. In vino rubeo j pottell, viijd.”—16., 7119 ; see Rolls, under Maundy. There are many notices of the Maundy wine, sweetmeats, etc., in the
Ripon Rolls.-See Mem. Ripon, III, Index. xxxd in money). With reference to the thirty pieces of silver. certaine wafers). Obleys, or nebulæ of wheat flour were made for the
Maundy at Lincoln in 1406. – Wordsw., 185. the Usher door). Mentioned again in ch. xliv, p. 87, and XLVII, p. 90 ; it
must be the door leading into the Deanery at the south-east corner of the cloisters. Here, probably, the Gentleman Usher (huissier, ostiarius) waited to attend the Lord Prior to the church, as the Verger still waits for the Dean. The Register House cannot now be
identified. the hospitall of Greatham). Greatham Hospital was founded by Bishop
Stichill in 1272. The foundation-charter, statutes, etc., are printed, from Dugdale's Monasticon, in Hutchinson, III, 92—102.
The old buildings were destroyed about 1803, but in the rebuilt chapel are some monumental inscriptions commemorating early Masters, for which see Hutchinson or Surtees. There are drawings of the old hospital in B.M. Kaye Collection, III, 126 ff., and a view, “ drawn
anno 1778," in Grose's Antiquities, Vol. V. Mr Tobias Matthew). D.D. of Ch. Ch., Oxford, 1573, dean, 1576-1584 ;
dean of Durham, 1583-94 ; rector of Bishopwearmouth, 1590 ; bishop
XXXVIII, pp. 78–79. a stoole or seat). Possibly the seat that has passed as a Maundy bench :
see p. 256. That seat had a foot-board, but it would seat four men. a faire longe bench of Stone). This bench no longer exists, the wall having
been refaced, but the Maundy benches still remain in the corres
ponding situations at Westminster and at Canterbury. certen Childrin a Row]. Probably the children of the Almery (ch.
XLVIII). This was the Mandatum fratrum, or Monks' maundy, which in monastic houses followed the Mandatum pauperum, or Abbot's (or Prior's) maundy. In earlier times the monks always washed one another's feet. At Evesham the Abbot washed the feet of the Prior and monks in the chapter-house, after which his feet were washed by two choir-boys and by the Prior.-Liber Evesham.,
85. certaine paers). The Office of Compline. a fair almerie Joyned in ye wall]. It seems to have been fixed in a recess,
some slight traces of which may perhaps still be discerned. See
* further in ch. XL. And the stoole & bench, etc.). We saw at the end of the last chapter how
Toby Matthew “annexed” the Register house to the Deanery, but to have destroyed one of the Maundy benches shows that he not only had a keen eye to his own convenience, but that he had something of the spirit of his predecessor, Dean Whittingham, who “ could not abyde anye auncyent monuments."--Ch. xxix.
XXXIX, pp. 79--82. a faire larg hall. This building was constructed over a low undercroft
consisting of round arches with ribless quadripartite vaults, and of some compartments with plain barrel-vaults. The superstructure, for some time used as the Petty Canons' Hall (see below), was entirely rebuilt by Dean Sudbury (1662–1684) to serve as the Chapter Library. The original east wall, which forms the west side of the Prior's Hall, was not interfered with, and it shows some remains of ornamental painting behind the book-cases. The present windows were substituted in 1858 for the characteristic ones of Sudbury's
time. ye frater house). The term frater is a later form of freitour, which is from
the Old French fraitur, from refreitor, Latin refectorium. It has become assimilated in form to the Latin “ frater," a brother, but has
no etymological connexion therewith. is finely wainscotted). The oak panelling now on the walls of the Deanery
Hall has not been made for that place, and may have been moved, wholly or partly, from the Frater after this account was written. It
is a beautiful example of woodwork of about Prior Castell's period. West and neither (nether) part, etc.). This sentence is unintelligible as it
stands in ed. 1842, after Davies (“and on either part," etc.), but in the later editions, as in MS. L., we read that the Frater House
was finely wainscotted on the North and South sides; and in the West and Nether Part thereof is a long Bench of Stone, in
Mason-work, from the Cellar Door to the Pantry or Cove Door" (ed. Hunter, 1733, p. 92). So again in Sanderson, 1767, p. 72. The cellar door and the pantry or covey door are both to be seen, blocked up, in the cellar and the pantry, but not in the present library, where they are concealed by wainscot. The bench must have been to a great extent destroyed when the present steps to the Loft were made. Its two ends might perhaps be found behind the oak panelling. The cellar and the covey remain at Worcester
in the corresponding situation ; date 1084-1100. the Pantry or Covey door). “Covey, Obs. (perhaps derivative of Cove in its
old sense of 'closet,' etc.), A pantry.”-N. E. D. But Cove is also "a concave arch or vault " (ib.), and the Cove or Covey at Durham
consists of two apartments with waggon vaults. sett with Imbroidered work). “Set with imboss'd Work in Wainscot, and
gilded under the carved Work” (ed. Hunter, 1733, p. 92). The meaning probably is that the Perpendicular tracery was fixed on gilt
panels. yet do appear). “ did long appear” (ed. Hunter, 1733, p. 92). hath engraven). “had engrauen
(ed. Sanderson, 1767, p. 72). a very strong Ambry). Probably concealed behind the present oak panelling.
There is plenty of room for it. a great Mazer). A mazer is a drinking-bowl turned out of some kind of
wood, preferably of maple, and especially bird's-eye maple, in Icelandic mösurr, “spot-wood," whence the English word mazer, both for the wood and for the cup made thereof. The word for spot in Middle High German is mase, whence Dutch maselen and English provincial meslins, measles. See Skeat, Etym. Dict. A most complete and admirably illustrated account of mazers, by Mr. W. H. St. John Hope, will be found in Archæologia, Vol. L, 129–193. The characteristics of a mazer are, the bowl, the band or metal mounting round the brim, the print or circular ornament at the bottom, the foot, and the cover, the only essential part being the bowl. The band is often inscribed. No less than forty-six examples of mazers are particularly described, and many of them figured, in Mr. Hope's article, appended to which are extracts from inventories and wills, in which mazers are mentioned, from 1295 to 1562–3. See Rolls,
Index under Mazers. called the grace cup). A later Grace-cup of silver gilt, still in existence and
occasionally used, did like service at the Residence-dinners of the Dean and Prebendaries of Durham so long as those entertainments
continued. It is shown in drawings in B.M. Kaye Coll., III, 1, 2. called Iudas Cupp). Probably from some representation on the print. black Maser). Black maple wood ; see note above. the picture). That is, a subject embossed or engraved on the print. four joynts of silver). When the foot was, as in this case, of some length,
mazers so fitted were known as "standing mazers.' another fair large Ambry). Probably fixed against the wall, but here again
a recess might be found if the panelling could be removed. This aumbry was made in 1433, and the bill is preserved. -- Raine, Br,