Obrázky na stránke
PDF
ePub

brother Edmund's confirming them again.-Eccl. Dunelm., II, xviii. “Sac, et Socne, Tol, et Team, Infangenthef,” and “Wrecch,” are mentioned in the false charter of William I printed in the Feodarium, p. Ixviii. The other terms as here stated to have occurred in the inscription are corrupt forms handed down to the time when the inscription was made, and wrongly copied, perhaps again and again, by persons to whom they were unfamiliar. Our sole authority for them is the MS. of 1660. The Rev. Charles Plummer suggests a possible reading something like this, “Mid fullum fréodóme, mid wrece, mid wíte & were (fines and wergilds, or, perhaps, “mid wrece & wite mid útware & inware," though he knows no authority for this last word), “mid Sac et Socn." In any case, he says, the original cannot be as early as the time of Edmund, and must be a forgery.

Appendix V, pp. 144-147. Liberatura specialis, 1510). Not collated, as the Bursar's book from which

it was taken has not been found. One great point of interest about this appendix is that it gives us a complete list of all the servants of the monastery. For other references to Liveries, see Rolls, Index under the word. Most of the descriptions explain themselves; a

few may require explanation. valecti]. Upper servants. popinario). Popinarius is properly a cook or victualler. In the Bursar's

Roll of 1510-11 we find “Et in uno magno vase vulgo a mele pro Pompenar' d'ni, 6d.”Rolls, p. 661. In that of 1511-12 Popinario seems to correspond to valecto promptuarii in that of 1536-7, Ib., 703n.

The popinarius had a gromus popinæ under him ; see p. 146. calor'). A Cater ; now called a Caterer or provider. See Rolls, 902. parvæ domus Bursarii). This was a sort of store-room. See Rolls, Index. cowper). A couper ; one who buys and sells, barters or deals, as does a

"horse-couper." barngreiff). The grave or steward of one of the Abbey barns. gromil. “Grooms " or inferior servants. fyshake). Not explained, unless it should be fyshare, fisher. sethar). Seether or boiler. See Rolls, under Seether, the. bowter). A bolter ; one who sifts meal. bagman). See Rolls, 551, 703 ; the Baghorse is frequently mentioned, see

Index to Rolls. Bagsaddle and Bagsaddletrees also occur. The bagman doubtless went about with the baghorse, but what the bags

contained does not appear. palesser). The palicerus, or park-keeper, or rather, perhaps, the paling

keeper. Sir Tho. Gargrave, writing of the Old Park at Wakefield in 1574, mentions “fees to the keeper and palester.”—J. J. Cartwright, Chapters in Hist, of Yks., 1872, p. 74. Hence the surname

Pallister, or Palliser. singyll clothe). See below, “2 singill pece contin. 18 uln. dowbill.” The

meaning is not clear. Perhaps the “ single” was of a certain breadth and the “ double ” twice the breadth. A piece of “ pannus strictus" contained 1134 ells of “singill."

[ocr errors]

lathami). Of the latomus or stone-cutter. panni generosorum). The Rolls contain many particulars of these and of

cloths for the liveries of other officers and servants. See the Index under Pannus, Pauni, Cloth, Clothes, and the Introduction, pp. iii, v. preste). Probably the priest who said mass at Magdalens and

Kimblesworth, and was also schoolmaster, p. 91. sad). Cloth of sober hue.

Appendix VI, pp. 148–158. Indulgentiæ). Dr. Raine's abstract is here printed as in the edition of

1842 without a verbatim collation. But a few corrections have been made from the original MSS. and seals. The explanation of Indulgences now current is, that an Indulgence is “a remission of the punishment which is still due to sin after sacramental absolution, this remission being valid in the court of conscience and before God, and being made by an application of the treasure of the Church on the part of a lawful superior."—Amort, quoted in Addis and Arnold's

Catholic Dictionary, 1884, and in the N. E. D. Galwathie). Of Candida Casa, Whithern, or Galloway.-R. Keith,

Historical Catalogue of the Scottish Bishops, 1824, p. 271. summa dierum cccc et xxxta dies). That is, the lawful superiors “applied

the treasure of the church to those who contributed to the fabric, in such a way that 430 of the days of canonical penance due according to the ancient discipline of the Church were relaxed or

excused,” so to speak, provided further that the required conditions existed in each case, namely, to be in a state of grace, etc. Theologians now carefully guard against the idea that indulgences (as, e.g. for a year, or a month, or forty days) had reference to periods of penance to be undergone in purgatory. But what ideas were connected with them in the popular mind in the middle ages it

is perhaps impossible for us now to know. Augustaldens.). Of Hexham. H. Elyens.). Hugh Norwold, bishop of Ely 1229–1 254. Candidæ Casæ). Of Whithern or Galloway. Breynensis). Of Brechin.—Keith, 159. Egdunensis). Probably for Enhegdunensis, q.v. infra. Catanensis). Of Caithness.—Keith, 210. Ergadiensis). Of Argyll.--Keith, 286. Alnecrumb). Now Ancrum, on the river Alne or Ale, in Roxburghshire.

The Bishops of Glasgow had a rural palace there. Laudocensem). “Laodicensis" on the seal, i.e. of Laodicea.–Stubbs,

Reg. Sacr. Angl., 1897, p. 195. G. Archiepiscopum). Godfrey de Ludham, 1258–1 265. Rathbotensem). Of Raphoe.–Stubbs, 205. Archadiensem). Probably of the Orcades or Orkney. There was a Peter

bishop of Orkney in 1270–84.—Keith, 220. Enhegdunensem). Of Enaghdun, in Ireland. --Stubbs, 208.

No. 1.

No. 3.

Appendix VII, pp. 159—160. The following are the present occupants of the prebendal houses. That of Stall 1.-C. Hodgson Fowler, Esq., Architect to the Dean and Chapter. 2.-Dr. Tristram. 3. --Dr. Farrar. 4.-Dr. Kynaston. 5.House destroyed ; the Loft is the Librarian's room. 6.—Chapter Offices. 7.--Dr. Body. 8.-Choir School, etc. 9.- Destroyed. 10.–Archdeacon of Durham. 1.-Ralph Simey, Esq. 12.–Archdeacon of Northumberland.

This house probably represents also the tailors' shop, called le Sartre, or Sartrina ; there is still an old walled garden at the back of it, and we find mention of a garden at the Sartry called Paradise ; this garden had a wall round it. There was also a well.Rolls, 167,

170, 180, 186. No. 2.

At the back of this house there still remains the west end of a mediæval building with two buttresses. The great kitchen fire-place probably dates from the sixteenth century. On the south side are some seventeenth-century windows, blocked up. “ St. Leonard," p. 290, is in the principal staircase window.

For the Guest-hall, see ch. XLVII and notes. In V. Bek's general view of Durham (Bodl. Lib., Gough Maps, etc., 7) is shown, as occupying the site of the guest house, a lofty mansion with a long

row of dormer windows. No. 4. The whole of the west side of this house up to the floor of the top

storey is ancient, and retains original buttresses, shafts of garde

robes, etc. No. 5. This house was partly constructed in the southern end of the great

dormitory, where some wall-paper purposely left on some of the roof-timbers shows where the garrets were. Some part of the adjoining dormitory retained its tiled floor, and served as an indoor playground for children and for drying clothes. See ch. xlill and

notes. No. 6. Some early walling remains in the basement.

In the basement on the north side is an outer doorway with a shouldered arch, and there is a similar doorway within, leading into cellarage. There is a building at the back about 53 feet north and south by 30 ft. east and west, in the eastern wall of which are Decorated windows of two lights, and there are buttresses at the south end. On the west side are responds connected with the arches named in No. 9, which abutted on this wall. The arms and initials seen in 1758 are not visible now, but they may be concealed.

“Sharp's MS." has not been identified. No. 8. The walls of this house seem to be almost wholly original, and

there are buttresses on the north, east, and south sides. It joins No. 7 on the West, and both houses have the same cellarage, with a

row of round columns. No. 9. The destruction of this house has revealed some ancient arches,

etc. ; these have never been satisfactorily identified with any known building

No. 7.

No. 10.

The west wall of this house is ancient up to a considerable height, and is well seen from the path below, with its original buttresses, latrine-shafts, etc. On the east side are some small sixteenth or

seventeenth century windows, near the ground. No. 11. The old walled gardens and a fountain, probably Dr. Pickering's,

still remain at the back of the house. There is some walling of uncertain date in the cellars. But on the west side is a building about 130 feet north and south by 40 feet east and west, with early

walls and corner buttresses up to the top. No. 12,

This house presents no ancient features. It is said that the Hon. Anchitel Grey (1809-1820) once requested a Minor Canon not to remain uncovered before him in the open air, but that the latter continued to stand hat in hand, according to the then custom in the College. The Minor Canon, however, was also Chaplain of the jail, then in the old gateway at the top of Saddler Street, where one day Mr. Grey stood uncovered before him, saying, “I am within your jurisdiction now, Sir."

Appendix VIII, pp. 161–168. the person to whom, etc.) James Mickleton, of the Inner Temple, Esq. R. Gale). Doubtless Roger, son of Thomas Gale, the well-known scholar

and antiquary, Dean of York 1697-1702. The Dean's sons Roger

and Samuel were both antiquaries. a bishop that he do's name not]. Wood says in Athene Oxon., II, 904

(ed. 1721): “ The private Character given of this Book at its first Publication, by a severe Calvinist and afterwards a Bishop, which I have seen written under his own hand, runs thus, Liber hic,” etc., as in text. Hearne gives the name of the bishop, thus, “ Before the Copy in ye Publick Library Bp. Barlow has put this Remark, Liber hic," etc.- Collections, O. H. S., I, 95. The reference is no doubt to Thomas Barlow, bishop of Lincoln 1675-91, who had been Bodley's Librarian 1642-60. Another person who was afterwards a bishop, namely White Kennett, bishop of Peterborough 1718–29, writing in 1693, calls “Rites" an “ignorant and pitiful Legend.”-- Life of Mr. Somner, prefixed to Brome's edition of Somner on Roman Ports, etc.,

Another antiquary who was afterwards a bishop, namely William Nicolson, bishop of Carlisle 1702–18, shows a better judgment in saying of the edition of Davies, “Nor is this last mention'd Piece such an ignorant and pitiful Legend, as a very worthy Person has represented it; since there's no where extant so full and exact an Account of the State of this Cathedral, at the suppression of Monasteries. The Author seems to have been an Eye-witness of all that pass'd at that time ; and his Descriptions of such Matters as are still remaining, appear to be so nicely true, that we have great Reason to credit him in the rest.”—Nicolson, English

Historical Library, Pt. II, p. 130. Hugo Derlington]. In 1264 he made magnum campanile, organa

grandiora.”—Graystanes in Scr. Tres, 46. For other notices of the

earlier organs, see Index to Rolls. John Brimleis). See note above, p. 231.

p. 21.

William Brown). His name appears in extant Treasurers' books, 1577

1604, but William Smythe comes in 1594-98. He was a Petty Canon, and organist 1588-98. See Rolls, 733 and note. Robert Jasterman appears in the books 1580-81 and 1588–89. These two appear to have acted for Brown and to have received the payment,

1580 98. Edward Smith). In the books 1609-10. In 1612-13 the payment (£10) is

entered, but no name is given. Book 1611-12 might have named

William Smith the elder, and Dodson, but it is lost. Richard Hutchinson). In the books 1614 to 1636. The books 1637 to 1660

are lost, but it is hardly likely that any were kept, or that the organist's place was filled up, from the death of Hutchinson in 1646 to the Restoration in 1661. Hutchinson enjoyed a high reputation as an organist, “præexcellens fuit Organista " (Mick. MS. 32, fo. 55v.), but he was not always so well-conducted as might have been wished. We find in the Chapter Acts that “In regard of Richard Hutchinsons frequent hanting of Aile houses and diuers other his evill demeanors, And especially for the breaking of the head of Toby Broking one of the singing men of this Church wth a Candlesticke in An Ailehouse, wounding him verie dangerously," he was reprimanded by the Dean and warned to expect expulsion if he did not amend.-MS. Chapter Acts, i Apr., 1628, fo. 66. On 7th May following, Henry Palmer was appointed as his deputy for the tuition of the choristers, but he is still to be ready by himself or his deputy to teach them to play on the virginals or organs on certain days. And the Chapter pardon him a certain debt of £10, fo. 67. Leonard Calvert appeared as Organist in the Treasurer's account of 1634, according to Randall's MS., but the account book is not now to be found. Calvert was

probably put on as a deputy for Hutchinson. John Forster). In the books 1661 to 1677. “ Choristas docuit in Claustris

Cath. Eccl. D."— Mick. MS. 32, fo. 55v. Alexander Shaw). In the books as Organist 1678–80, with John Nichols

as Master of the Choristers for the same time. William Grigg). William Greggs appears in the books as Master of the

Choristers and Organist 1682-1710. “ It was agreed by the Chapter on ist Dec., 1686, that Mr. Greggs the Organist have leave for three months to goe to London to improve himselfe in the Skill of Musicke."— Acts of Chapter.

“ Choristas docet in Claustris predictis. Qui Will's constitutus Magister Scholæ pro plano Cantu, et arte scribendi. Que quidem Schola pro prefato Magistro et Scholaribus suis situata est super Viretum Palatii D. ibique edificata et fundata fuit per Tho. [Langley 26] Ep’um D.”—Mick. MS. 32, fo. 55v. On a plain stone inserted in the south wall of the chancel of St. Mary's in the South Bailey is the inscription, “ Here Lieth ye Body of Mr William Greggs Late Organist Of ye Cathedral Church at Durham who died ye 15th day of October 1710 in ye 18 year of his Age was Son of Jo. Greggs gent. of York & Sufferer for K. C. I." James Heseltine, aged 19 years, succeeded Greggs; he died Jan. 28, 1763, and was buried in the Galilee. Thomas Ebdon succeeded in July following, and died “ 234 of Septr, 1811, aged 73, having been, during 48 years,

« PredošláPokračovať »