Obrázky na stránke


south-west part of the garth have resulted in the discovery not only of the octagonal building described in Rites, but of a square one that preceded it, and also of a well at a distance of 27 feet from centre to centre, to the north-east. The page containing the notes the laver has accordingly been cancelled, and the notes have been altered in accordance with the new discoveries, but it was impossible to say much about these without greatly disturbing other pages. It is hoped, however, that a proper account will shortly appear in Archæologia.

For convenience of reference, the paging of the edition of 1844 is inserted in the pages of this one, and every passage to which a note belongs is marked by a small asterisk.

Besides those owners or keepers of MSS. who have been mentioned above, there are several friends who have rendered great service in connexion with this new edition.

Mr. Hope has prepared two of the Plans, has made two special journeys to Durham in connexion therewith, and has written the valuable note the Sunday Procession, besides going through the notes, and making many valuable suggestions now embodied in them. Among others who have seen the notes in proof must be specially named the Rev. W. Greenwell, the Dean of Durham, Dr. J. Wickham Legg, and Mr. J. T. Micklethwaite, who have all pointed out additions and corrections by which many of the notes, themselves the labour of some years, have been greatly improved.

J. T. F.



May, 1903

[blocks in formation]

(1) This booke doth conteine a discription or briefe

declaratio of all the ancient monuments Rites and customes, belonginge or beinge wthin the Monasticall Church of durham before

the suppression written. 1593.

[ocr errors]


Ukiv: STY


(I. THE NINE ALTARS.)*: First in the front or highest part* of the Church were the 9 altars dedicated and directed in the honoure of (several)2 saints, and of them takinge theire names as the inscription hereof shall declare. The altars beinge placed north and south one from another, alonge the front of the church. In the midst of the front of the church where theise 9 altars were placed, was the altar of the holy fathers St Cuthbert and St Bede, hauinge all the foresaid altars equally deuided of either hand as on the south hand foure, and on the north hand foure on the south were theise 4 altars followinge,

first the altar of St Oswald and St Laurence. 2 The second was the altar of St Thomas of Canterburye and St Kathern.

3 The third was the altar of St John Baptist & St Margarett. *

4 The fourth was the altar of St Andrew and Mary Magdalene beinge the uttermost altar toward the south.

[In the South angle of the said Nine Altars next the MS. L., Cemetory Garth, commonly called the Centry Garth and 1656. next the said Altar there was an Ambry set* wherein Singing-breads* and Wine were usually placed, at which the Segerston of the Abbey caused his Servant or Scholar

* The headings in parentheses, and their numbers throughout, are retained from the edition of 1842 for convenience' sake. But archaistic spelling of modern headings is modernized. The small asterisks are to indicate passages on which there are notes at the end of the volume. The figures in parentheses are the numbers of the pages in the edition of 1842. 2 Secunda manu.

c. 1620.



MS. L., dayly to give attendance from six a clock in the Morning 1656.

till the high Masse was ended from out (2) thereof to deliver Singing-bread and Wine to those that did assist and help

the Monks to celebrate and say Masse. L., C., Dav.] MS. Cos., Richard de Bury, Bpp of durhā lyeth buryed before

this Altar vnder a faire marble stone, wheron his owne ymage was most curiously and artificially ingrauen in brass with the pictures of the 12 apostles devided imbordered [devided & bordred, H. 45, L.) of either side of him, and other fine imagery worke a bout it much adorninge ye marble stone.

On the north side of Saint Cuthberts Shrine and Saint Bedes altar, were theise 4 followinge The altar of St Martin.

The second was the altar of St Peter and St Paul. 3 The third was the Altar of St Adian (sic) and St Helline.

4 The fourth was the Altar of the holy Archangell St Michaell beinge the outermost towards the north : be twixt the last two Altars lyeth buryed Anthony Beeke bpp of durhā and Patriarch of Jerusalem in a faire marble tombe, under neath a faire marble stone, beinge the first Bpp that euer attempted to lye so neere the sacred shrine of St Cuthbert, the wall beinge broken* at the end of the allye* for bringinge him in with his coffin, (wch contynued vntill ye suppression of ye Abbey, H. 45).

All the foresd 9 altars had theire seuerall shrines* and couers of wainscote ouer head* in uerye decent and comely forme, hauinge likewise betwixt euerye altar a uerye faire and large ptition of wainscott* all uarnished ouer, wth fine branches & flowers and other imagerye worke most finely and artificially pictured and guilted,* conteyninge the seuerall lockers or ambers* for the safe keepinge of the uestments and ornaments belonginge to euerye altar, with 3 or 4 little amryes in the wall* ptaininge to some of the sd altars, for the same use and purpose.

There is in the East end of the church a goodly faire round window called St Katherns window,* the bredth of the quere all of stone uerye finely and cunningly wrought and glazed, hauinge in it 24 lights uerye

artificially made, as it is called geometricall, and the MS. Cos.,

c. 1620. picture of St Kathern is sett in glass on the right side underneath the sd window in a nother glazed window, as shee was sett uppon the wheele* to bee tormented to death which wheele did burst in peices and caught the turners of the sd wheele, and with the pikes therof all to rent them in peices, St Kat beinge safe hir selfe by the prouision of Almightie god and in the sd window was there a frame of iron, wherin did stand 9 uery fine cres(3)setts of Earthen mettall* filled with tallow wch euerye night was lighted when the day was gone to giue light to the nine altars and St Cuthberts feriture, in that part and ouer all the church besides, did burne unto the next morninge that the day was broken.

In the south alley end* of the 9 altars there is a good glazed window called St Cuthberts window,* the wch hath in it all the whole storye life and miracles of that holy man St Cuthbert from his birth of his natiuitie and infancie unto the end and a discourse of his whole life, maruelously fine and curiously sett forth in pictures in fine coloured glass accordinge as he went in his habitte to his dying day beinge a most godly and fine storye to behold of that holy man St Cuthbert.

In the north alley of the sd 9 altars there is another goodly faire great glass window called Josephs window the wch hath in it all the whole storye of Joseph* most artificially wrought in pictures in fine coloured glass accoringe (sic) as it is sett forth in the bible uerye good and godly to the beholders therof.

[ocr errors]

(II.) In St Cuthberts feritorye. Next to theise 9 altars was the goodly [stately, H. 45] monument of Saint Cuthbert adioyinge to the quire and the high altar, on the west end reachinge towards the 9 altars on the east and toward the north and south containinge the breadth of the quire in quadrant forme* in the midst wherof his sacred shrine* was exalted with most

Here, as elsewhere, the heading given in the MS. is retained where there is one.

« PredošláPokračovať »