« PredošláPokračovať »
the river. It was sometimes called the Infirmary “between the two Baileys." On the Cistercian Layfolks' Infirmary see Yks. Arch.
Jrnl., XV, 393. Sr Rob: Hartburne). Rector of Kimblesworth, 1526 ; he died 1543. Magdelens chappell]. The ruins stand in a garden a little to the north of
the higher part of Gilesgate. For its history see Memorials of St. Giles's (Surtees Soc.), Intr., xxix ; Rolls, Index under Magdalens,
and Intr. to Rolls, xxxix. K’imblesworth chappell]. Kimblesworth was called a rectory. The church
or chapel had gone to decay in 1593, and the parish has long been united to that of Witton Gilbert (Hutchinson, II, 350). It is about three miles north of Durham. The only vestige of the chapel is an Early English grave-cover, quite plain, lying by a hedge near the
site, which is under the plough, in “ Chapel Field.” the Covie). See above, ch. xxxix, note, p. 258. The door from the Frater,
blocked up, the great kitchen window, mutilated and blocked up, and the window or square opening where the children received their meat and drink, are all to be seen in the Covey or vaulted pantry under the Loft. There are many references to it and to the Clerk of
the Covey (Covent, p. 91) in the Rolls, see the Index under Cova. the farmery wthout ye south gaites).
See note, p. 273.
The four aged women would probably in many cases be relatives of the monks, persons who might well be considered to have a special claim on the
hospitality of any monastery. ye releefe). “ The remains of a meal gathered together to be bestowed as
alms." --- Liber Evesham., H. Bradshaw Soc., p. 178. “ Cumque omnes comederint ; percutiat ter mensam cum cultello et colligatur
releuium."--16., col. 17. to saye messe to). An improper expression, but probably one which was
current. Some people would now speak of reading the prayers “to" three or four old women.
XLVIII (A), pp. 92–93. a stately Fabrick]. See Carter, Pl. iv, v; Billings, passim ; Greenwell,
pp. 81, 82.
the East Front of the Nine Altars). See the old view, showing the statues,
in Durham and Northumb. Arch. Trans., V, Pl. vii, and p. 36, and the two plates in Hutchinson, II, at p. 224.
XLIX, pp. 93--98. Thes Beynge, etc.). In Hunter's edition, 1733, and the reprint, 1743,
p. 116 ff., these paragraphs on the officers come after all the rest, and are preceded by the chapter on The Steeple ” here printed, which is not in the MSS. nor in Davies, but is in Sanderson, 1767,
Mounckes and officers). We here have notices of the Obedientiaries or
monks holding offices and having each his own separate chamber. The Officers or Obedientiaries in a Benedictine monastery were not all the same everywhere, and their number increased with division of
labour as time went on. Besides monks and novices, who were not officers, the Rule of St. Benedict (c. A.D. 540) mentions only the Abbot, the Præpositus, Provost, or Prior, Deans, Priests (monks then being commonly laymen), the Cellarer, and the Porter. The monks then took their turns as weekly servers in the kitchen and weekly readers, and some were artificers. Lanfranc (c. A.D. 1073) gives minute particulars as to the duties of the Abbot, the Major Prior, the Cloister or deputy Prior, the Circumitores or Circæ, the Cantor, the Secretarius or Sacrist, the Chamberlain, the Cellarer, the Guestmaster, the Almoner, and the Infirmarer. For the officers and servants at Worcester in later times, see Noake's Worcester, 242 ff. ; at Winchester, Kitchin's Compotus Rolls, Hants Record Soc., Introd., 31–33. No doubt, as a rule, the more capable and energetic of the monks found their way into the Obedientiary Offices by a process akin to “natural selection.” Each of the principal officers, in later times at least, had definite estates, charges on churches, or other sources of income, assigned to his office, for which he was responsible at the audit to the Abbot (or Prior) and Convent. And each had to produce to the Bursar his own account-rolls, many of which have survived, and of these some have been printed, as by the Surtees and other societies. Some at least of the officers were excused some of their personal attendance in the church, and had vicars assigned to perform their duties in choir and at the altars.
See Rolls, Index under Obedientiaries, Officers, Officiarii, Vicar. Dane Stephen Merley ye Supprior, etc.). See note on him, p. 273 ; also Hutchinson, II, 190 ; and on the Sub-prior, ch. xliv.
was the English form of the title dominus, used especially in speaking of or to members of religious orders, but also in the case
of others. maister of the fratere). The “Refectorarius" or fraterer.-See Index to
Rolls, s.v. goe euery nyghte, etc.). See note on a privy serche,” ch. XLIII. the fawden yettes). See below, under Roger Wryght, ch. L. Dane William Watsonn). First prebendary of the twelfth stall. Before
the Dissolution he appears to have been both Vice-prior and Prior's chaplain (see pp. 94, 101). Possibly, however, there were two
persons of the same name. Mr & kepper of ye fereture). Raine gives a dated list of shrine-keepers and of their consocii, beginning with Elfred Westoue, 1022.
From 1378 to 1513 the accounts are fairly complete ; see St. Cuthbert, 113–168. Rolls have since been found extending the series from 1370 to 1538.
- Rolls, 420—483. and deece Prior). "Deice" and “ deace below. This officer is men
tioned next after the Sub-prior, and appears to have been what was commonly called the Third Prior. From his being called the “deece prior” in Durham we may suppose that, being also Prior's Chaplain, as appears below, he usually took his dinner and supper at the high table on the dais in the Prior's Hall, and “sat as chief” when the Prior was absent, as the Sub-Prior did in the Loft,
his chamber was in the Dorter). That is, as Master of the Feretory, but as
Prior's chaplain his chamber was next to that of the Prior. ye holy sacrede shrine). See ch. 11; Rolls, Index under Shrine. clarke of ye fereture). See Rolls, Index under Shrine, clerk of. in ye mattenes tyme). “Te Deum” was sung at the end of Mattins on
Sundays and Festivals except in Advent and from Septuagesima to
practically formed one service. hie mess tyme). The Missa alta or Missa magna, sung with music and
much more elaborate ritual than that of an ordinary mass, which was called missa privata or missa bassa. On Low Mass and High Mass from the eleventh to the sixteenth century, see Pearson, The
Sarum Missal, Lond., 1884, Iviij-Ixix. evinsong tyme). Evensong is the English name for the Office of Vespers. & dyd offer any thing). All who visited the shrine would make at least
some small offering in money. This was dropped into a box secured by two locks, one key being kept by the Shrine-keeper and the other by his colleague. The sums received in 69 years from 1378-9 to 1488-9 are stated in Raine, St. Cuthb., 115, 116. The roll of 1513-14, the latest known to Dr. Raine, has never been completed, hence the “ blank" on which he builds the inference that offerings had ceased. We find in 1525-6, ul. 75. 2d. ; in 1536–7, 71. ros. 3d. ; and in 1537-8, 41. 75. 572d. See Feretrars' Rolls, Rolls, 420-483.
In earlier times the money offerings were laid on the tomb, so that a certain thief “ feyned als he the toumbe walde kys” and “ clekyd vp in mouthé hys Penys four or fyue.---Metr. Life, 6344-6, from Symeon,
gould, sylver, or Jewels). For some of these, presented by Robert Rodes,
of Newcastle, in 1446–7, and hung on the shrine, see Rolis, p. 440. For others, the Status, p. 450.
In the Feretrar's Roll of 1501–2 we find 2s. 8d. pro xiv tenturhukis factis ex argento pro fixura
annulorum super feretrum," p. 480. hounge on ye shrine). See the last note. The making of hooks for the
shrine in 1398–1401 is mentioned in Rolls, 446, 448. vnicorne horne, Eliphant Tooth, etc.). Such natural curiosities, then more
rarely seen in England than now, were highly prized, and exhibited together with the relics. “ Unicorn's horn was probably the tusk of the narwhal or sea-unicorn, Monodon Monoceros. In the relic-list of 1383 we find not only quatuor particulæ de ebore longæ et curvatæ,” but several “ova griffina,” probably ostriches' eggs, or perhaps coco nuts.--Rolls, 427-434. Also “ duo ungues griffonis," 426. One of these appears to have been the horn of an ibex, four feet long, and to have found its way to the British Museum. See Rolls, Introduction, p. xx. The tusks of the walrus, Trichecus
Rosmarus, would also find their way into these collections. many goodly Reliquies). See the Liber de Reliquiis, 1383, printed in Rolls,
425-440, and in Smith's Bede, 1722, Appendix, 740—745, but wrongly dated 1372. For two earlier lists than this, see Scr. Tres, p. ccccxxvi, and note.
Regester of the house). The Registers of the Prior and Convent remain in
the custody of the Treasurer of the Chapter, in very good order. Sanct Cuthbertes Banner). See above, ch. xv, p. 23, and notes, p. 214 ;
Rolls, Index under Cuthbert, St., banner of. all ye Pippes of it). The silver pipes and cross are mentioned in the
Feretrars' Inventories. ---Rolls, Index under Pipes, Cross. sleaven on). Sleaue on, Cos. ; sliven on, L. ; sliuen on, C.; sliven on,
Dav., H.; sliden on, Sanderson. That is, slipped on. See Skeat, s.vv. Sleeve, Slip. The shafts of the large maces of our municipal corporations are still made of similar pipes of metal slipped upon a
wooden shaft. ye wynyng of Branckes feilde). Brankes Hill, by Flodden Field.-Rolls,
663. There is an interesting entry about the battle and the banner
on that page. the kinge of Scotles Banner). See above, ch. II, p. 6. at manye other places besydes). See Rolls, Index under Cuthbert, St.,
banner of. wth his surplice on). See Rolls, 454, 462. a strong girdle). This girdle (singulum=cingulum) is mentioned in Rolls,
448. a socket of horne). It is not easy to understand from the description how
this socket was fixed ; sockets are now used in the same sort of way for heavy banners. There was a payment of iod. “in emendacione
cuppe pro vexillo beati Cuthberti."—Rolls, 458. Sacte Beedes shrine). See above, ch. XXII, p. 44. the Revestrie). See note on the Vestrye, ch. XII, p. 211. vj novices). See ch. xxxix, p. 82, and ch. XLIII, p. 85. Cowles, frockes, etc.). A very interesting inventory of novices' clothes, etc.,
including “j pokett pro vestibus lavandis," is printed from Lambeth MSS., No. 448, fo. 106, in D. J. Stewart's work on Ely Cathedral, 1868, p. 231 ; also in Ethelred Taunton's English Black Monks, 1897, I, 71n., 72 ; for their outfits at Durham, see Rolls, 190, and at
Canterbury, Customary, H. Bradshaw Soc., 1902, Vol. I, p. 400. goynge daly to there bookes). And sometimes, no doubt, to lighter occupa
tions. Mr. Micklethwaite directed attention in 1875 to some sets of “nine-holes" cut in the stone bench in the part of the cloister that was occupied by the novices at Westminster, and they have since been found on the benches of the Benedictine cloisters of Canterbury and Norwich, and of the secular cloister of Chichester, as well as in other places. See his illustrated paper on the indoor games of school boys in the Middle Ages.--Arch. Inst. Journal, XLIX, 319 ; see also XXXIII, 20. At Durham the cloister benches have all disappeared, and with them, very likely, some sets of “nine-holes," or perhaps marks for the game of fox and geese, which exist at
Gloucester and Salisbury. he was sent to oxforde). Namely, to Durham College, first founded by Prior
Richard de Hoton about 1290, but provided with a separate endowment and a constitution by Bishop Hatfield (1345-82). It was dissolved
in 1571, and granted to the new Dean and Chapter of Durham, but became a hall in the University for about sixteen years, in which time going to ruin it was repaired and endowed by Sir Thomas Pope as Trinity College, where some of the old buildings remain, with Durham heraldry in their windows. See further in Wood, Antiq. of Oxford (Oxf. Hist. Soc.), II, 263 ; Collectanea, third Ser. (ib.), 1–76, with facsimile of Loggan's view, showing the old buildings ; Rolls, passim, see Index, under Oxford. The Benedictine houses of Canterbury and Gloucester also had Colleges in Oxford belonging
to them. they dyd syng there first messe). Always regarded as a principal and
epoch-making event in the life of any priest. In the Cistercian Statutes of 1256-7, Dist., II, 4, we find “Sacerdotes noviter ordinati primas missas non nisi privatim cantant." A novice never handled any money until he said his first mass, but on that occasion he
received 6s. 8d. - Rolls, Index, under Masses, first. Maister Sagersten). Mr. Sacristan, Sacrist, or Sexton, called Secretarius
in Lanfranc. The Sextens checker). Mentioned above, ch. XI, p. 18. It was built by
Prior Wessington between 1416 and 1446, at a cost of £60.--Scr. Tres, p. cclxxii. The pointed doorway that led into it from the north choir aisle is visible within the church, but has been effaced outside. The bench-table of the middle arch in the outer arcade on the east side of the north transept is cut away for the north wall of the checker, and on the north wall of the choir-aisle is an upright groove, as if there had been a wooden partition. The dimensions of the Sexton's checker were probably similar to those of the Vestry on the
south side of the quire, p. 211. wth in the church in ye north alley). These words apply in strictness only
to the doorway, not to the checker itself. but sence itt is pulled downe, etc.). This later addition refers to the visit
of Charles I in 1633, when he addressed a letter to the Chapter directing them to remove “ certaine meane tenements built against the walls of the Church or Quire, as soon as the leases were run out. -Cosin's Correspondence, etc., Surtees Soc., I, 212--217. Whether the royal mandate was meant to affect the Sacrist's checker does not appear, but it was pulled down in 1633 or 1634 according to the
Gough MS., above, p. 164. ye songe scoole made in ye Cloisters). It occupied, until recently, two com
partments of the undercroft of the Great Dormitory, adjoining the
south side of the Treasury. See above, p. 264. Mr Green). Probably James Green, who appears in the Treasurer's books
as Minor Canon and Sacrist, 1663–7. to provyde bread). Lanfranc gives minute directions for the making of the
altar-bread by the secretarius or sacristan.-Wilkins, I, 349. These are repeated, with additions, in the Consuetudinary of Abbot Ware, cap. vi.--Cotton MS. Otho, c. xi, fo. 34, and that of St. Augustine's, Canterbury, H. Bradshaw Soc., 1902, p. 119. Only the very finest wheat flour was used, and the utmost care was observed in order to