Obrázky na stránke

On the north side of the chancel is a monument of white marble to the memory of Sir Samuel Eyre. It is adorned with a bust of the deceased knight. Sir Samuel Eyre was one of the Justices of the King's Bench in the reign of William III., and died in Lancaster, September 12th, 1698, while performing his duties as judge on the Northern Circuit. The body after lying a short time in the Church was removed to New Sarum, the ancestral birth-place of the deceased.

A monument on the same side of the Church to the memory of William Stafford, LL.D., Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond (in which Lancaster is situate), was executed by the celebrated sculptor Roubiliac. Charity is the principal figure, who is dispensing relief to an aged woman and two children. Dr. Stafford, by his will, left £3000 to particular charities, and the further sum of £10,000 towards the augmentation of small livings, in Lancaster and the neighbouring counties. St. John's Chapel in this town obtained from this fund £200 towards its erection.

Two marble tablets are placed on the west wall, near the tower of the Church, to commemorate the munificence of William Penny, esquire, Alderman, and of William Heysham, esquire, formerly M.P. for the Borough: the first of whom left money, lands, and estates, to build an almshouse, and granted annuities to twelve ancient indigent men; and the latter an estate called "The Greaves," the rent of which is divided annually amongst eight poor ancient men of the borough.

Lancaster is situate, for ecclesiastical purposes, in the deanery of Amounderness, in the archdeaconry of Richmond, in the diocese of Chester, and within the archbishopric of York.

The parish of Lancaster is very extensive. It comprises one Borough, seven Chapelries, and twelve Town

ships, as follow:



[ocr errors]

ASHTON, with


[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]

The present Vicar of Lancaster is the Rev. John Manby, A.M., who was inducted in 1806. The returned value of the living in 1831 was £1742. The Curates are the Rev. Richard Yerburgh and the Rev. John May.


THIS Chapel is built upon what was formerly termed the Green Area (commonly pronounced Ayr). It is a large and neat edifice of stone, and is ornamented with a spire, which was added in 1784 by the liberality of the late Thomas Bowes, esq. The building itself was erected in 1754, and consecrated the year following. It has a small burial ground. The Rev. George Morland is the Incumbent Minister, and the Rev. John Royds is the Curate.


THIS Chapel, in Moor Lane, is a plain building, with no pretensions of an architectural character. It was consecrated on the 23rd of August 1796. The first Minister was the Rev. Robt. Housman, one of the earliest of those Church of England Ministers who adopted Evangelical sentiments. During forty years this devoted Servant of Christ proclaimed the glad tidings of the Gospel, with singular energy and success, from the pulpit of St. Anne's. Mr. Housman died on the 22nd April 1838. A marble tablet has been erected to his memory in the Chapel, but his best epitaph is written in the hearts of his congregation. An admirable memoir of this venerated Minister has been written by R. F. Housman, esquire, of Lune Bank, Skerton. The present Incumbent of St. Anne's is the Rev. C. Bury.


A handsome building situated in Penny street, is in the Early English style of Architecture. The foundation stone of this Church (built by public subscription upon land given by George Marton, of Capernwray Hall, esq., M.P., and endowed by Mrs. Elizabeth Salisbury) was laid by Edward Dodson Salisbury, esq., assisted by the W.M., Officers, and Brethren of the Lodge of Fortitude (No. 350) Freemasons, on Shrove-Tuesday, March 3rd, 1840. The Rev. J. N. G. Armytage is the Incumbent Minister, and the Rev. E. Pedder the Curate. Adjoining this Church is a very handsome Sunday School, capable of containing about 400 children, erected at a cost of about £500 by the benevolence of Samuel Simpson, esq..


Is in Dalton Square. It is a neat structure of polished free-stone, erected in 1798. The altar is deserving of mention, and an organ has recently been added. The Rev. Dr. Brown, one of the Roman Catholic bishops for the northern counties, was formerly the priest of this chapel. The Bishop's nephew and secretary, the Rev. R. Brown, is the present Incumbent.


THIS building occupies the site of the burial ground of the Dominican Friars, who for a long period before their Dissolution flourished here. It is situated in Sulyard street, Dalton square.


In High street, was erected in 1772. It is a neat stone building, having a burial-ground before it. The Minister is the Rev. Samuel Bell.


The Min

Has been long devoted to Unitarian worship. It is situate in St. Nicholas street and was built in 1786. ister is the Rev. Mr. Shein.


Is large and commodious, the followers of George Fox being a numerous and respectable body in Lancaster. The Meeting House was built so long ago as in 1677, and stands within a large burial-ground.

« PredošláPokračovať »